PoliceCensus

Home / States / Indiana / Indiana University: Bloomington

Indiana University: Bloomington

University or College agency in Monroe, Indiana, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
IN0530200
Type
University or College
County
Monroe
State
Indiana (IN)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-01-01
Location
39.1789, -86.5153

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025.

156Sworn officers
27Civilian staff
0
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025156270—
20163810—
201537100—
20143950—
20114190—
201041110—
200943100—
200843100—
200743100—
20064280—
200543120—
200441120—

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Indiana University: Bloomington in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20266 of 121300.0%
20251250510.0%
20241227414.8%
20231252611.5%
20224 of 1210440.0%
20214 of 12100.0%
202010 of 122713.7%
20191231929.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20266 of 1213096.9%
202512343102.9%
20241237051.4%
202312343164.7%
20224 of 122813.6%
20214 of 123538.6%
202010 of 121321511.4%
2019122613613.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record IN0530200.

Arrests

Arrests made by Indiana University: Bloomington, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20266 of 12110
202512167
202412146
202312232
20224 of 1274
20214 of 12100
202010 of 12418
201912845

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record IN0530200.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Indiana University: Bloomington for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20252
20242
20234
20183
20101
20051
20042
20031
20022
20018
200011
199936
19983
19972
19961
199513
19944
19938
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1993–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Jewish31
Anti-Black or African American26
Anti-Multiple Races, Group13
Anti-Gay (Male)11
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry7
Anti-Asian5
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)4
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-White2
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Transgender1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record IN0530200.

Also policing Monroe

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record IN0530200. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.