PoliceCensus

Home / States / Illinois / Schaumburg Police Department

Schaumburg Police Department

City agency in Cook, Illinois, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
IL0162A00
Type
City
County
Cook
State
Illinois (IL)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-04-01
Location
42.0265, -88.1029

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 76,773.

109Sworn officers
41Civilian staff
1.95Employees per 1,000 people
76,773Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251094176,7731.95
20241153474,8821.99
20231123675,1401.97
20221093575,7451.90
20191093173,4121.91
20171143374,4711.97
20151063575,0501.88
20121153774,5852.04
20111133974,4502.04
20101164174,2272.12
20091164471,3252.24
20081294771,7532.45

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Schaumburg Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12271244.4%
202512522344.2%
202412733345.2%
202312832226.5%
202212692434.8%
202112651726.2%
2020127800.0%
2019127300.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1283222727.3%
2025121,26239231.1%
2024121,82466936.7%
2023121,55637324.0%
2022121,62224114.9%
20211296610110.5%
2020121,32600.0%
2019121,56300.0%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record IL0162A00.

Arrests

Arrests made by Schaumburg Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 121,235
2025121,950
2024122,584
2023122,147
2022121,966
2021121,262
2020120
2019120

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record IL0162A00.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Schaumburg Police Department for 2024, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20241
20234
20221
20211
20151
20141
20091
20072
20065
20041
20031
20024
20013
20002
19981
19971
19963
19944
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1994–2024
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American13
Anti-Asian6
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry5
Anti-Gay (Male)3
Anti-Jewish2
Anti-Multiple Races, Group2
Anti-White2
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Hindu1
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record IL0162A00.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Schaumburg Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 2022 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument0
Hands, fists or feet13
Other weapon32
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
202200013
20230012
202400512
20250075

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Cook

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record IL0162A00. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.