PoliceCensus

Home / States / Illinois / Rockford Police Department

Rockford Police Department

City agency in Ogle, Winnebago, Illinois, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1991.

ORI
IL1010400
Type
City
County
Ogle, Winnebago
State
Illinois (IL)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1991-01-01
Location
42.2721, -89.0965

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 147,186.

276Sworn officers
43Civilian staff
2.17Employees per 1,000 people
147,186Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202527643147,1862.17
202427342145,2802.17
202327842145,8732.19
202227247146,7102.17
202128243144,0272.26
202028943144,7952.29
201929840145,7192.32
201829940146,1982.32
201728439146,7702.20
201628835147,3632.19
201528035148,1782.13
201428034149,5862.10

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Rockford Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1272540455.7%
2025121,32578759.4%
2024121,57482952.7%
2023121,68571342.3%
2022122,11675235.5%
2021122,22364128.8%
2020122,11180738.2%
2019121,72088451.4%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 122,07232715.8%
2025123,72551213.7%
2024123,72348613.1%
2023124,00752113.0%
2022123,95056414.3%
2021123,71651313.8%
2020124,19369716.6%
2019124,96193218.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record IL1010400.

Arrests

Arrests made by Rockford Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 123,438
2025124,728
2024124,687
2023124,129
2022123,805
2021123,356
2020125,626
2019128,105

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record IL1010400.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Rockford Police Department for 2020, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20202
20193
20184
20174
20165
20152
20141
20134
20126
20116
20101
200911
20085
200717
200615
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2006–2020
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American24
Anti-White13
Anti-Hispanic or Latino9
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)9
Anti-Gay (Male)8
Anti-Multiple Races, Group5
Anti-Asian3
Anti-Catholic2
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)2
Anti-Jewish2
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry2
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Heterosexual1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Mental Disability1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1

2 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record IL1010400.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

23 people have died during an encounter with Rockford Police Department between 2001 and 2023, according to the two datasets named below.

23Deaths recorded
15.63Per 100,000 people policed
2001–2023Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot19
Tasered2
Vehicle2

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (18) and Mapping Police Violence (5). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Rockford Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 2006 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm62
Knife or other cutting instrument18
Hands, fists or feet2,109
Other weapon328
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
2006219233
2007219829
20082110226
2009328417
2010116911
201100435
201211395
201301375
201430396
201530345
201602287
20170515436
20181014821
20193028310
20207017149
20211911079
20221429026
2023001511
20240019411
20251014616

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$733,000Original acquisition value
1Line items received
2014–2014Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$733,0002014-02-13

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record IL1010400. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.