PoliceCensus

Home / States / Illinois / Avon Police Department

Avon Police Department

City agency in Fulton, Warren, Illinois, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2026.

ORI
IL0290600
Type
City
County
Fulton, Warren
State
Illinois (IL)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2026-01-01
Location
40.663, -90.4349

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 1998, covering a population of 943.

1Sworn officers
0Civilian staff
1.06Employees per 1,000 people
943Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
1998109431.06
1997101,0160.98
1996101,0120.99
1995101,0110.99
1994109841.02
1993109801.02
1992109731.03
1991109661.04
1990109571.04
1989109941.01
1988109671.03
1987109831.02

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Avon Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20261 of 1200—
2025Not reported
2024Not reported
2023Not reported
2022Not reported
2021Not reported
2020Not reported
2019Not reported
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20261 of 1200—
2025Not reported
2024Not reported
2023Not reported
2022Not reported
2021Not reported
2020Not reported
2019Not reported

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record IL0290600.

Arrests

Arrests made by Avon Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20261 of 122
2025Not reported
2024Not reported
2023Not reported
2022Not reported
2021Not reported
2020Not reported
2019Not reported

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record IL0290600.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

No incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Avon Police Department in any year from 1991 to 2025, as at 14 August 2026. This does not mean none occurred.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record IL0290600.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record IL0290600. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.