PoliceCensus

Home / States / Idaho / Nampa Police Department

Nampa Police Department

City agency in Canyon, Idaho, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1994.

ORI
ID0140200
Type
City
County
Canyon
State
Idaho (ID)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1994-01-01
Location
43.6231, -116.7085

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 121,713.

154Sworn officers
69Civilian staff
1.83Employees per 1,000 people
121,713Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202515469121,7131.83
202415067118,9501.82
202314366116,1161.80
202213867111,5011.84
202114060105,6191.89
202012857101,4111.82
20191255198,2081.79
20181235595,3861.87
20171135293,0641.77
20161125591,5201.82
20151115089,8751.79
20141075387,7351.82

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Nampa Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
20251237723261.5%
20241243729266.8%
20231244528363.6%
20221239916641.6%
20211237018850.8%
20201232817754.0%
20191229415251.7%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
20251282119323.5%
20241290815717.3%
2023121,01822622.2%
2022121,45025317.4%
2021121,57136523.2%
2020121,72735020.3%
2019121,81441622.9%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record ID0140200.

Arrests

Arrests made by Nampa Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
2025122,622
2024122,781
2023123,343
2022123,227
2021123,363
2020123,177
2019123,723

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record ID0140200.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

4 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Nampa Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20254
20241
20231
20227
20211
20182
20175
20162
20151
20144
20134
20123
20113
20104
200910
20087
20074
20063
20055
20044
20024
20002
19991
19986
19976
19963
199524
199412
19931
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1993–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Hispanic or Latino50
Anti-Black or African American29
Anti-White11
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry8
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)7
Anti-Multiple Races, Group7
Anti-Gay (Male)6
Anti-Other Religion5
Anti-Catholic3
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Atheism/Agnosticism1
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1
Anti-Transgender1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record ID0140200.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

18 people have died during an encounter with Nampa Police Department between 2001 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

18Deaths recorded
14.79Per 100,000 people policed
2001–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot13
Vehicle3
Fell from a height1
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (11) and Mapping Police Violence (7). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Nampa Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm19
Knife or other cutting instrument20
Hands, fists or feet530
Other weapon71
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950050
19960030
19970192
19981182
19990091
200000131
20011040
200200112
20030070
200400140
200510110
20060040
20070091
200800130
200910113
201000112
20110060
20120020
20130010
20140161
201500132
201600133
2017307914
201810203
201900464
202005379
202150542
202224262
202316468
202421177
202511222

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$127,788Original acquisition value
2Line items received
2012–2012Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Truck,Utility2$127,7882012-07-24

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Canyon

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record ID0140200. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.