PoliceCensus

Home / States / Idaho / Bannock County Sheriff's Office

Bannock County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Bannock, Idaho, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1992.

ORI
ID0030000
Type
County
County
Bannock
State
Idaho (ID)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1992-01-01
Location
42.6929, -112.229

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2024, covering a population of 16,090.

46Sworn officers
80Civilian staff
7.83Employees per 1,000 people
16,090Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2024468016,0907.83
2023438114,8858.33
2022437714,7118.16
2021452318,1313.75
2020438316,3547.70
2019428316,0697.78
2018428316,0227.80
2017422415,7394.19
2016422415,4514.27
2015422315,0634.32
2014422415,4014.29
2013422415,3374.30

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Bannock County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20261 of 12100.0%
2025126583.3%
202412111090.9%
2023128787.5%
202212161593.8%
202112191368.4%
2020127685.7%
2019126466.7%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20261 of 12200.0%
20251230620.0%
202412551323.6%
202312841922.6%
202212981212.2%
2021128367.2%
20201250714.0%
201912481429.2%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record ID0030000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Bannock County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20261 of 1239
202512542
202412573
202312667
202212651
202112576
202012345
201912329

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record ID0030000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Bannock County Sheriff's Office for 2000, as at 14 August 2026.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20001
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2000
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record ID0030000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

4 people have died during an encounter with Bannock County Sheriff's Office between 2012 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

4Deaths recorded
24.86Per 100,000 people policed
2012–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot4

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (3) and Fatal Encounters (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Also policing Bannock

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record ID0030000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.