PoliceCensus

Home / States / Iowa / Rock Valley Police Department

Rock Valley Police Department

City agency in Sioux, Iowa, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1993.

ORI
IA0840400
Type
City
County
Sioux
State
Iowa (IA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1993-04-01
Location
43.2035, -96.2949

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 4,012.

6Sworn officers
0Civilian staff
1.50Employees per 1,000 people
4,012Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025604,0121.50
2024604,0381.49
2023604,0791.47
2022004,1060.00
2021603,9451.52
2020603,8991.54
2019603,8241.57
2018603,7981.58
2017603,7881.58
2016503,7621.33
2015503,6951.35
2014503,6331.38

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Rock Valley Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1200—
20251211100.0%
20241200—
20231211100.0%
2022125360.0%
202110 of 123266.7%
20201233100.0%
201911 of 12100.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 121417.1%
202512500.0%
202412900.0%
202312600.0%
2022121516.7%
202110 of 124125.0%
202012200.0%
201911 of 129111.1%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record IA0840400.

Arrests

Arrests made by Rock Valley Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 1222
20251238
20241238
20231248
20221246
202110 of 1225
20201267
201911 of 1234

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record IA0840400.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Rock Valley Police Department for 2023, as at 14 August 2026.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20231
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2023
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record IA0840400.

Also policing Sioux

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record IA0840400. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.