PoliceCensus

Home / States / Iowa / Des Moines Police Department

Des Moines Police Department

City agency in Polk, Warren, Iowa, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1991.

ORI
IA0770300
Type
City
County
Polk, Warren
State
Iowa (IA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1991-01-01
Location
41.6843, -93.5697

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 212,933.

367Sworn officers
107Civilian staff
2.23Employees per 1,000 people
212,933Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025367107212,9332.23
2024356143209,2452.38
2023377118209,6582.36
2022339138210,3762.27
202136497213,0602.16
202036797215,2902.16
201935199218,3842.06
2017350105217,2772.09
2016343103211,5012.11
201536099210,4032.18
2014354104208,2502.20
2013366109207,3912.29

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Des Moines Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1295758360.9%
2025121,36676556.0%
2024121,48042328.6%
2023121,49725517.0%
2022121,01522722.4%
2021121,34676456.8%
2020121,52784855.5%
2019121,58689356.3%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 123,17769121.8%
2025126,0421,20620.0%
2024126,6055368.1%
2023127,1262503.5%
2022124,6501974.2%
2021126,80197114.3%
2020128,4991,45417.1%
2019129,0831,87920.7%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record IA0770300.

Arrests

Arrests made by Des Moines Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 124,700
2025126,633
2024122,531
2023121,094
2022121,136
2021124,847
2020127,230
2019128,947

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record IA0770300.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

11 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Des Moines Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202511
202413
202311
20229
20201
20181
20163
20151
20141
20111
20102
20091
20087
20072
20067
20052
20044
20032
20023
20014
20005
19992
19983
199711
19964
19958
199414
19932
19921
19912
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American73
Anti-Gay (Male)15
Anti-Hispanic or Latino10
Anti-Jewish9
Anti-White7
Anti-Lesbian (Female)5
Anti-Multiple Races, Group3
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry3
Anti-Asian2
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)2
Anti-Other Religion2
Anti-Transgender2
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Church of Jesus Christ1
Anti-Heterosexual1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Protestant1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record IA0770300.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

42 people have died during an encounter with Des Moines Police Department between 2001 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

42Deaths recorded
19.72Per 100,000 people policed
2001–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot24
Vehicle16
Beaten/Bludgeoned with instrument1
Drowned1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (26) and Mapping Police Violence (16). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Des Moines Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm73
Knife or other cutting instrument36
Hands, fists or feet1,298
Other weapon209
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950081
19962182
199700317
199801392
199932357
200000301
200112251
200210244
200301273
20041191
2005313510
200601379
2007103510
2008113311
200900101
201010223
201122313
201200273
201313285
201410262
201520133
20161387
201711165
20182171
20190013
2020303110
202220456
202330455
20242118018
2025391443265

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Polk, Warren

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record IA0770300. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.