PoliceCensus

Home / States / Iowa / Davenport Police Department

Davenport Police Department

City agency in Scott, Iowa, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1992.

ORI
IA0820200
Type
City
County
Scott
State
Iowa (IA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1992-01-01
Location
41.5237, -90.5771

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 100,761.

143Sworn officers
28Civilian staff
1.70Employees per 1,000 people
100,761Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202514328100,7611.70
20241492899,9261.77
20231532699,9111.79
202215527100,4371.81
202116225102,0141.83
202016722101,8061.86
201916923102,3921.88
201817023102,7061.88
201716019103,0631.74
201615820103,1181.73
201515826103,0821.78
201416026102,7151.81

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Davenport Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1237719451.5%
20251265734051.8%
20241258129751.1%
20231268828441.3%
20221270125736.7%
20211267123234.6%
20201274823531.4%
20191261024039.3%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 121,73542724.6%
2025123,20186226.9%
2024123,55788324.8%
2023123,83672218.8%
2022123,5133469.8%
2021123,6763138.5%
2020124,0033538.8%
2019123,93955614.1%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record IA0820200.

Arrests

Arrests made by Davenport Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 123,457
2025125,778
2024125,754
2023124,971
2022123,934
2021123,523
2020123,361
2019125,557

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record IA0820200.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Davenport Police Department for 2021, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20212
20201
20191
20111
20102
20095
20087
20072
20063
20052
20041
20034
200210
20017
20003
19993
19983
19975
19962
19945
19931
19922
19913
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2021
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American35
Anti-White9
Anti-Gay (Male)6
Anti-Jewish6
Anti-Asian5
Anti-Multiple Races, Group4
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry3
Anti-Hispanic or Latino2
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Other Religion1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record IA0820200.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

15 people have died during an encounter with Davenport Police Department between 2005 and 2022, according to the two datasets named below.

15Deaths recorded
14.89Per 100,000 people policed
2005–2022Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot12
Vehicle2
Fell from a height1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (10) and Mapping Police Violence (5). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Davenport Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm39
Knife or other cutting instrument70
Hands, fists or feet1,931
Other weapon332
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950110
19961275
1997113810
1998223112
1999012515
200004266
200101164
200225306
200304213
2004212813
200511214
200611289
200701214
200800238
200900233
201011132
201121133
201202209
201313277
201410183
201502224
201642162
201730212
201800104
201921165
202032103
202100586
20227329032
202301343154
20240818225
20255744569

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$7,630Original acquisition value
32Line items received
1998–2010Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter32$7,6302010-03-17

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Scott

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record IA0820200. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.