PoliceCensus

Home / States / Georgia / Gwinnett County Police Department

Gwinnett County Police Department

County agency in Gwinnett, Georgia, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2020.

ORI
GA0670200
Type
County
County
Gwinnett
State
Georgia (GA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2020-01-01
Location
33.9863, -83.9726

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 858,237.

682Sworn officers
383Civilian staff
1.24Employees per 1,000 people
858,237Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025682383858,2371.24
2024715306842,9991.21
2023694279834,9301.17
2022689255826,7861.14
2021701244810,4641.17
2020795258808,4471.30
2019764243803,7391.25
2018726249797,6141.22
2017681243787,3651.17
2016667272776,5631.21
2015689268762,3631.26
2014685261742,8061.27

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Gwinnett County Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 121,00530930.7%
2025121,73656832.7%
2024121,98058229.4%
2023122,55873628.8%
2022122,65276228.7%
2021129100.0%
2020123400.0%
2019121,11314813.3%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 123,9913839.6%
2025127,9986948.7%
20241210,5486496.2%
20231210,7745955.5%
2022128,1504295.3%
20211211500.0%
2020123100.0%
2019129,2525305.7%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record GA0670200.

Arrests

Arrests made by Gwinnett County Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 123,943
2025126,800
2024126,305
2023125,460
2022123,676
2021Annual total only1 †
2020120
2019129,821

† Annual total only. For 2021, the FBI’s file places this agency’s whole year of arrests in a single month. Police Census shows the annual total as filed and no month-by-month figures for those years: a monthly table would show one month’s spike above zeros in the other eleven, which the source does not support.

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record GA0670200.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

13 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Gwinnett County Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202513
202410
202311
202221
20212
20201
20191
20184
20173
20166
20151
20142
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2014–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American24
Anti-Hispanic or Latino12
Anti-Gay (Male)10
Anti-Lesbian (Female)4
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry4
Anti-Multiple Races, Group3
Anti-Transgender3
Anti-Catholic2
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)2
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Female1
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1
Anti-Jewish1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Protestant1
Anti-White1

3 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record GA0670200.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

60 people have died during an encounter with Gwinnett County Police Department between 2002 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

60Deaths recorded
6.99Per 100,000 people policed
2002–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot53
Vehicle4
Gunshot, Taser1
Medical emergency1
Taser1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (38) and Mapping Police Violence (22). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Gwinnett County Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 2006 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm29
Knife or other cutting instrument22
Hands, fists or feet468
Other weapon64
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
200611110
201230209
201300110
201402373
201521333
201612295
201730331
201821253
201911100
202247615
202335748
2024905318
202502719

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Gwinnett

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record GA0670200. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.