PoliceCensus

Home / States / Georgia / Columbia County Sheriff's Office

Columbia County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Columbia, Georgia, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2019.

ORI
GA0360000
Type
County
County
Columbia
State
Georgia (GA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2019-10-01
Location
33.5506, -82.2514

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 147,725.

283Sworn officers
64Civilian staff
2.35Employees per 1,000 people
147,725Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202528364147,7252.35
2024204127146,4512.26
202326779143,6612.41
2022203127141,8262.33
202027361141,3422.36
201927662139,9632.41
201830081137,7562.77
201728080134,8362.67
2016242102131,5512.61
201527198127,2412.90
201427196123,0572.98
201230663114,9843.21

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Columbia County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
2025121056461.0%
2024121096660.6%
2023121155346.1%
202212391948.7%
2021124125.0%
20201212325.0%
20198 of 1224833.3%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
20251280022227.8%
20241296425926.9%
2023121,07818817.4%
2022124839619.9%
202112711723.9%
202012994141.4%
20198 of 1268013019.1%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record GA0360000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Columbia County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
2025121,677
2024122,181
2023122,121
2022121,572
2021121,242
202012902
20198 of 121,691

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record GA0360000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Columbia County Sheriff's Office for 2023, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20232
19981
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1998–2023
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American2

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record GA0360000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

10 people have died during an encounter with Columbia County Sheriff's Office between 2000 and 2025, according to the two datasets named below.

10Deaths recorded
6.77Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2025Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot5
Vehicle5

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (6) and Mapping Police Violence (4). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$317,607Original acquisition value
70Line items received
2013–2017Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Truck,Utility2$252,9222017-08-25
Illuminator,Integrated,Small Arms130$64,0202017-09-14
Sight,Reflex20$3402017-08-17
Adapter,Goggles,Night Vision10$3252017-08-28

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Columbia

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record GA0360000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.