PoliceCensus

Home / States / Georgia / Atlanta Police Department

Atlanta Police Department

City agency in Dekalb, Fulton, Georgia, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2020.

ORI
GAAPD0000
Type
City
County
Dekalb, Fulton
State
Georgia (GA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2020-10-01
Location
33.7482, -84.3952

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 525,939.

1,817Sworn officers
532Civilian staff
4.47Employees per 1,000 people
525,939Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251,817532525,9394.47
20241,623529517,1234.16
20231,630461500,2124.18
20221,643434495,7074.19
20211,641454521,2744.02
20201,548467515,9453.91
20191,600490507,3694.12
20181,535452496,1064.01
20171,621466481,3434.34
20161,694446472,5794.53
20151,781437464,7104.77
20141,800409454,3634.86

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Atlanta Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 122,6901,17243.6%
2025123,8691,40536.3%
2024123,1231,03933.3%
2023123,5481,25535.4%
2022124,2211,61038.1%
2021124,6311,66435.9%
20203 of 121,35732223.7%
20199 of 123,0421,26241.5%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 128,7011,04112.0%
20251216,3911,73510.6%
20241218,3521,5058.2%
20231219,5951,4557.4%
20221218,6891,4847.9%
20211219,1991,4867.7%
20203 of 125,9742904.9%
20199 of 1216,5712,04712.4%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record GAAPD0000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Atlanta Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 128,343
20251212,596
20241211,388
20231211,984
20221212,390
20211211,029
20203 of 122,653
20199 of 120

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record GAAPD0000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

17 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Atlanta Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202517
202414
202313
20223
202110
20203
20191
20182
20173
20165
20154
201413
201321
20112
20104
20091
20084
20077
20067
20055
200416
20038
200219
200128
200021
199928
199816
199734
199627
199538
199436
199366
199262
199122
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Gay (Male)180
Anti-Black or African American162
Anti-White81
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)22
Anti-Lesbian (Female)21
Anti-Jewish17
Anti-Hispanic or Latino15
Anti-Asian13
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry12
Anti-Multiple Races, Group6
Anti-Protestant6
Anti-Catholic3
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming3
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)3
Anti-Other Religion3
Anti-Transgender3
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native2
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Heterosexual1
Anti-Mental Disability1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Physical Disability1

2 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record GAAPD0000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

115 people have died during an encounter with Atlanta Police Department between 2000 and 2025, according to the two datasets named below.

115Deaths recorded
21.87Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2025Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot83
Vehicle28
Beaten/Bludgeoned with instrument2
Gunshot, Taser1
Taser1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (78) and Mapping Police Violence (37). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Atlanta Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm276
Knife or other cutting instrument128
Hands, fists or feet1,343
Other weapon566
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199521156726
19961885935
19971354938
19981445026
19991624819
20001284329
20011164130
20021384527
2003924223
2004965727
20051055328
2006745528
20071145425
20081045925
2009545119
2010545218
20111355314
20121375115
2013725513
2014974511
2015813814
201683335
2017502411
201831149
202102178
2022743511
2023512410
202433339
20251139613

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record GAAPD0000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.