PoliceCensus

Home / States / Florida / University of South Florida: Tampa

University of South Florida: Tampa

University or College agency in Hillsborough, Florida, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
FL0290700
Type
University or College
County
Hillsborough
State
Florida (FL)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-01-01
Location
28.0545, -82.4138

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025.

51Sworn officers
43Civilian staff
0
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202551430—
202244270—
202143210—
202048260—
201952240—
201855260—
201748200—
201651170—
201553150—
201449110—
201342150—
201242160—

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by University of South Florida: Tampa in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20264 of 1200—
202512200.0%
20241200—
20235 of 1200—
20226 of 1212200.0%
202111 of 125240.0%
2020128450.0%
20191212541.7%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20264 of 124224.8%
2025121693621.3%
202412208167.7%
20235 of 12800.0%
20226 of 1255814.5%
202111 of 1212197.4%
202012173179.8%
2019122372410.1%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record FL0290700.

Arrests

Arrests made by University of South Florida: Tampa, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20264 of 125
202512121
20241230
20235 of 120
20226 of 1220
202111 of 1256
2020Annual total only69 †
2019Annual total only181 †

† Annual total only. For 2019, 2020, the FBI’s file places this agency’s whole year of arrests in a single month. Police Census shows the annual total as filed and no month-by-month figures for those years: a monthly table would show one month’s spike above zeros in the other eleven, which the source does not support.

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record FL0290700.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for University of South Florida: Tampa for 2017, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20171
20151
20122
20042
19961
19942
19935
19921
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2017
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American5
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)3
Anti-Jewish2
Anti-Heterosexual1
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1
Anti-White1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record FL0290700.

Also policing Hillsborough

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record FL0290700. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.