PoliceCensus

Home / States / Florida / St. Petersburg Police Department

St. Petersburg Police Department

City agency in Pinellas, Florida, United States. This agency has no NIBRS start date on record. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for it, shown below; Police Census holds no crime counts or clearance rates for it.

ORI
FL0521400
Type
City
County
Pinellas
State
Florida (FL)
FBI reporting
No NIBRS start date
Location
27.772, -82.6518

No crime counts or clearance rates are published for this jurisdiction. St. Petersburg Police Department has no National Incident-Based Reporting System start date on record, and Police Census holds no crime or clearance figures for it. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for this agency; they are shown below.

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 269,098.

531Sworn officers
299Civilian staff
3.08Employees per 1,000 people
269,098Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025531299269,0983.08
2024559219264,9992.94
2023544223262,3952.92
2022554213257,7452.98
2021551199270,1752.78
2020557219267,6902.90
2019552205267,6962.83
2018549232265,9422.94
2017556200263,7122.87
2016548211259,5102.92
2015528207255,8212.87
2014531230250,7723.03

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Arrests

Arrests made by St. Petersburg Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
2025120
2024120
2023120
2022120
2021Not reported
2020Annual total only7,399 †
2019Annual total only11,366 †

† Annual total only. For 2019, 2020, the FBI’s file places this agency’s whole year of arrests in a single month. Police Census shows the annual total as filed and no month-by-month figures for those years: a monthly table would show one month’s spike above zeros in the other eleven, which the source does not support.

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record FL0521400.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

4 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for St. Petersburg Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20254
20247
20234
20226
20216
20131
20091
20082
200613
200515
200432
200318
200220
200114
200011
199910
19988
19979
199621
199512
19949
19937
199217
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-White90
Anti-Black or African American52
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)40
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry26
Anti-Jewish14
Anti-Gay (Male)6
Anti-Catholic4
Anti-Hispanic or Latino4
Anti-Multiple Races, Group4
Anti-Bisexual3
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)2
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Sikh1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record FL0521400.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

34 people have died during an encounter with St. Petersburg Police Department between 2002 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

34Deaths recorded
12.63Per 100,000 people policed
2002–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot25
Vehicle8
Taser1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (19) and Mapping Police Violence (15). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of St. Petersburg Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1998 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm68
Knife or other cutting instrument31
Hands, fists or feet220
Other weapon155
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19983396
19990085
20002296
20011498
20022096
20033496
20044089
20054086
20061076
20072197
20085186
20092187
20102296
20113098
20122198
20135287
20141184
20152194
20162175
20172374
20182195
20192196
20205186
20224083
20234175
20242054
20251072

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Pinellas

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record FL0521400. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.