PoliceCensus

Home / States / Florida / Sebastian Police Department

Sebastian Police Department

City agency in Indian River, Florida, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2025.

ORI
FL0310200
Type
City
County
Indian River
State
Florida (FL)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2025-01-01
Location
27.8172, -80.4748

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 27,602.

45Sworn officers
21Civilian staff
2.39Employees per 1,000 people
27,602Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025452127,6022.39
2024392227,4452.22
2023371827,0042.04
2022401426,2582.06
2021411826,9822.19
2020411626,6262.14
2019411926,2322.29
2018392025,6722.30
2017371825,2772.18
2016341824,4412.13
2015361923,7062.32
2014351922,8892.36

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Sebastian Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12281139.3%
202512391743.6%
2024124224.8%
2023124412.3%
2022121700.0%
2021Not reported
202012211676.2%
201912191473.7%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 121327254.5%
2025122349841.9%
2024122479839.7%
2023124298018.6%
2022122395020.9%
2021Not reported
2020121552012.9%
2019122977926.6%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record FL0310200.

Arrests

Arrests made by Sebastian Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 12272
202512367
2024120
2023120
2022120
2021Not reported
2020Annual total only229 †
2019Annual total only374 †

† Annual total only. For 2019, 2020, the FBI’s file places this agency’s whole year of arrests in a single month. Police Census shows the annual total as filed and no month-by-month figures for those years: a monthly table would show one month’s spike above zeros in the other eleven, which the source does not support.

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record FL0310200.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Sebastian Police Department for 2018, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20181
20062
20051
20021
19961
19951
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2018
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American2
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry2
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-White1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record FL0310200.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Sebastian Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1998 and 2024. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm2
Knife or other cutting instrument1
Hands, fists or feet47
Other weapon22
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19980021
19990022
20000010
20021021
20030010
20040020
20050013
20060011
20070013
20080111
20090020
20100030
20110011
20120031
20130020
20140010
20160020
20171041
20180042
20190021
20200031
20220021
20230021
20240021

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Indian River

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record FL0310200. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.