PoliceCensus

Home / States / Florida / Santa Rosa County Sheriff's Office

Santa Rosa County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Santa Rosa, Florida, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
FL0570000
Type
County
County
Santa Rosa
State
Florida (FL)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-01-01
Location
30.7036, -87.0143

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 190,022.

256Sworn officers
238Civilian staff
2.60Employees per 1,000 people
190,022Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025256238190,0222.60
2024280360192,9833.32
202321365184,9781.50
202224994183,2221.87
202123997171,9411.95
2020217205169,2102.49
2019220219163,7172.68
2018207208160,6422.58
201719281157,5011.73
2016194185154,1242.46
2015187191151,1462.50
2014187191148,8822.54

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Santa Rosa County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1214013797.9%
20251226823286.6%
20241224419881.1%
20231224720281.8%
20221223821791.2%
20211221117582.9%
20201222118684.2%
20191220920196.2%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1235527477.2%
20251292546950.7%
20241298438539.1%
2023121,20252143.3%
2022121,22851341.8%
2021121,04330329.1%
2020121,28049138.4%
2019121,36766248.4%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record FL0570000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Santa Rosa County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 121,635
2025122,751
2024123,185
2023123,554
2022123,335
2021123,327
2020Annual total only4,075 †
2019Annual total only5,402 †

† Annual total only. For 2019, 2020, the FBI’s file places this agency’s whole year of arrests in a single month. Police Census shows the annual total as filed and no month-by-month figures for those years: a monthly table would show one month’s spike above zeros in the other eleven, which the source does not support.

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record FL0570000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Santa Rosa County Sheriff's Office for 2024, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20243
20233
20225
20211
20201
20191
20171
20132
20112
20104
20093
20081
20075
20061
20051
20031
20021
20011
20001
19991
19986
19972
19963
19951
19941
19931
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1993–2024
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American26
Anti-White9
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)6
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry4
Anti-Jewish2
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Protestant1
Anti-Transgender1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record FL0570000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

6 people have died during an encounter with Santa Rosa County Sheriff's Office between 2010 and 2018, according to the two datasets named below.

6Deaths recorded
3.16Per 100,000 people policed
2010–2018Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot6

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (3) and Mapping Police Violence (3). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Also policing Santa Rosa

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record FL0570000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.