PoliceCensus

Home / States / Florida / Orange County Sheriff's Office

Orange County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Orange, Florida, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2024.

ORI
FL0480000
Type
County
County
Orange
State
Florida (FL)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2024-12-01
Location
28.5144, -81.3233

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 955,709.

1,774Sworn officers
769Civilian staff
2.66Employees per 1,000 people
955,709Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251,774769955,7092.66
20241,463661960,1132.21
20231,620624923,1542.43
20221,602604905,8552.44
20211,628637898,1752.52
20201,613708905,3762.56
20191,581683890,1112.54
20181,537664878,4222.51
20171,482642856,4012.48
20161,447650839,7912.50
20151,446648823,3022.54
20141,341588806,8672.39

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Orange County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 122,34499542.4%
2025123,8651,39036.0%
2024122839533.6%
20231200—
2022124,7302876.1%
202111 of 1200—
2020124,5642,65158.1%
2019124,8742,92159.9%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 126,43168010.6%
20251213,6059436.9%
2024121,247776.2%
20231200—
20221216,4002,15813.2%
202111 of 1200—
20201215,8773,15819.9%
20191220,8324,21620.2%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record FL0480000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Orange County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 1211,845
20251217,073
2024Annual total only1,084 †
2023120
2022120
202111 of 120
2020Annual total only17,536 †
2019Annual total only23,235 †

† Annual total only. For 2019, 2020, 2024, the FBI’s file places this agency’s whole year of arrests in a single month. Police Census shows the annual total as filed and no month-by-month figures for those years: a monthly table would show one month’s spike above zeros in the other eleven, which the source does not support.

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record FL0480000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

11 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Orange County Sheriff's Office for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202511
20234
20227
20212
20202
20193
20187
20172
20165
20153
20143
201310
201216
201113
20104
20095
20081
20072
20061
20041
20035
200211
20013
20003
199912
199813
19973
199612
199512
199428
199334
199211
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American95
Anti-White39
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)21
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry20
Anti-Jewish19
Anti-Hispanic or Latino15
Anti-Gay (Male)13
Anti-Multiple Races, Group10
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)4
Anti-Other Religion4
Anti-Heterosexual2
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record FL0480000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

84 people have died during an encounter with Orange County Sheriff's Office between 2000 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

84Deaths recorded
8.79Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot69
Vehicle9
Tasered4
Asphyxiated/Restrained1
Physical Restraint1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (51) and Mapping Police Violence (33). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$1,014Original acquisition value
3Line items received
1998–2020Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter2$9981998-09-17
Magazine,Cartridge150$162020-03-11

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Orange

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record FL0480000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.