PoliceCensus

Home / States / Florida / Okeechobee County Sheriff's Office

Okeechobee County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Okeechobee, Florida, United States. This agency has no NIBRS start date on record. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for it, shown below; Police Census holds no crime counts or clearance rates for it.

ORI
FL0470000
Type
County
County
Okeechobee
State
Florida (FL)
FBI reporting
No NIBRS start date
Location
27.3856, -80.8874

No crime counts or clearance rates are published for this jurisdiction. Okeechobee County Sheriff's Office has no National Incident-Based Reporting System start date on record, and Police Census holds no crime or clearance figures for it. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for this agency; they are shown below.

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 36,525.

107Sworn officers
67Civilian staff
4.76Employees per 1,000 people
36,525Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251076736,5254.76
202410511637,0495.97
20239410935,3185.75
20228811035,9145.51
2021894436,3293.66
2020904336,4563.65
20190035,6910.00
2018944136,0703.74
20171395234,7775.49
20161254633,8345.05
2015833333,6013.45
2014853233,8753.45

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Arrests

Arrests made by Okeechobee County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
2025120
2024120
2023120
2022120
2021Not reported
2020Annual total only1,348 †
2019Annual total only1,839 †

† Annual total only. For 2019, 2020, the FBI’s file places this agency’s whole year of arrests in a single month. Police Census shows the annual total as filed and no month-by-month figures for those years: a monthly table would show one month’s spike above zeros in the other eleven, which the source does not support.

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record FL0470000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Okeechobee County Sheriff's Office for 2004, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20041
20002
19991
19951
19942
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1994–2004
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-White4
Anti-Black or African American3

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record FL0470000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

5 people have died during an encounter with Okeechobee County Sheriff's Office between 2013 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

5Deaths recorded
13.69Per 100,000 people policed
2013–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot3
Vehicle2

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (3) and Mapping Police Violence (2). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$1.1mOriginal acquisition value
14Line items received
2000–2020Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle2$1.1m2020-03-30
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter12$1,6562000-01-19

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Okeechobee

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record FL0470000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.