PoliceCensus

Home / States / Florida / Ocoee Police Department

Ocoee Police Department

City agency in Orange, Florida, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2026.

ORI
FL0480300
Type
City
County
Orange
State
Florida (FL)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2026-03-01
Location
28.5494, -81.5345

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 52,261.

95Sworn officers
26Civilian staff
2.32Employees per 1,000 people
52,261Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025952652,2612.32
2024932549,8572.37
2023951948,5452.35
2022921947,4452.34
2021941350,7412.11
2020872349,8772.21
2019851449,4512.00
2018771348,1281.87
2017741246,5011.85
2016771245,3301.96
2015721042,4691.93
2014751140,0292.15

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Ocoee Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 12492449.0%
20256 of 1200—
20241 of 1200—
2023Not reported
2022Not reported
2021Not reported
2020121327859.1%
2019121559762.6%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 122587127.5%
20256 of 1200—
20241 of 1200—
2023Not reported
2022Not reported
2021Not reported
2020121,13527424.1%
2019121,33630222.6%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record FL0480300.

Arrests

Arrests made by Ocoee Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 12272
20256 of 120
20241 of 120
2023Not reported
2022Not reported
2021Not reported
2020Annual total only539 †
2019Annual total only838 †

† Annual total only. For 2019, 2020, the FBI’s file places this agency’s whole year of arrests in a single month. Police Census shows the annual total as filed and no month-by-month figures for those years: a monthly table would show one month’s spike above zeros in the other eleven, which the source does not support.

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record FL0480300.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Ocoee Police Department for 2020, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20201
20141
20121
20102
20091
20071
20064
20033
20026
20016
20006
19994
19981
19974
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1997–2020
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American19
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry9
Anti-White7
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)4
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record FL0480300.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

3 people have died during an encounter with Ocoee Police Department between 2006 and 2025, according to the two datasets named below.

3Deaths recorded
5.74Per 100,000 people policed
2006–2025Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1
Taser1
Vehicle1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (2) and Fatal Encounters (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Ocoee Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1998 and 2020. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm2
Knife or other cutting instrument5
Hands, fists or feet91
Other weapon28
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19980032
19990031
20000061
20010053
20020041
20030051
20040153
20050052
20060021
20070122
20080051
20091051
20100021
20110041
20121040
20130040
20140120
20150041
20160022
20170131
20180051
20190172
20200040

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Orange

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record FL0480300. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.