PoliceCensus

Home / States / Florida / North Port Police Department

North Port Police Department

City agency in Sarasota, Florida, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2025.

ORI
FL0580300
Type
City
County
Sarasota
State
Florida (FL)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2025-03-01
Location
27.1844, -82.3658

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 97,818.

152Sworn officers
52Civilian staff
2.09Employees per 1,000 people
97,818Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251525297,8182.09
20241103593,9301.54
20231314190,3561.90
20221273884,4591.95
20211234275,6142.18
20201213772,3892.18
20191133570,1812.11
20181083267,6822.07
2017883265,4981.83
2016982963,3862.00
2015932661,1481.95
2014992459,6682.06

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by North Port Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 12844553.6%
2025121005757.0%
2024128889.1%
202312921010.9%
2022121011312.9%
20212 of 1200—
2020121179177.8%
201912956366.3%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1230810132.8%
20251243713230.2%
20241273424733.7%
20231288133037.5%
20221281630937.9%
20212 of 1200—
20201274324733.2%
20191297030631.5%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record FL0580300.

Arrests

Arrests made by North Port Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 12671
202512867
2024120
2023120
2022120
20212 of 120
2020Annual total only984 †
2019Annual total only1,326 †

† Annual total only. For 2019, 2020, the FBI’s file places this agency’s whole year of arrests in a single month. Police Census shows the annual total as filed and no month-by-month figures for those years: a monthly table would show one month’s spike above zeros in the other eleven, which the source does not support.

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record FL0580300.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for North Port Police Department for 2019, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20191
20151
20131
20124
20112
20104
20095
20082
20073
20061
20053
20041
20011
20002
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2000–2019
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American9
Anti-White8
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)5
Anti-Protestant3
Anti-Jewish2
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry2
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record FL0580300.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

4 people have died during an encounter with North Port Police Department between 2009 and 2020, according to the two datasets named below.

4Deaths recorded
4.09Per 100,000 people policed
2009–2020Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot4

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (3) and Fatal Encounters (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of North Port Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1998 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm7
Knife or other cutting instrument0
Hands, fists or feet92
Other weapon27
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19980030
20001041
20010010
20020021
20030042
20040050
20050031
20061031
20070034
20081031
20091051
20100052
20111032
20120051
20131062
20140021
20151030
20160021
20170012
20180020
20190041
20200030
20220010
20230052
20240041
202500100

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$828Original acquisition value
6Line items received
2000–2000Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter6$8282000-02-04

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Sarasota

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record FL0580300. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.