PoliceCensus

Home / States / Florida / Longwood Police Department

Longwood Police Department

City agency in Seminole, Florida, United States. This agency has no NIBRS start date on record. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for it, shown below; Police Census holds no crime counts or clearance rates for it.

ORI
FL0590300
Type
City
County
Seminole
State
Florida (FL)
FBI reporting
No NIBRS start date
Location
28.7009, -81.3497

No crime counts or clearance rates are published for this jurisdiction. Longwood Police Department has no National Incident-Based Reporting System start date on record, and Police Census holds no crime or clearance figures for it. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for this agency; they are shown below.

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 17,549.

42Sworn officers
6Civilian staff
2.74Employees per 1,000 people
17,549Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202542617,5492.74
202440617,2982.66
202342517,6272.67
202242514,9993.13
202141417,2452.61
202043515,7933.04
201943515,3203.13
201841515,2733.01
201737415,2542.69
201642514,1713.32
201335613,7812.98
201240813,9193.45

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Arrests

Arrests made by Longwood Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
2025120
2024120
2023120
2022120
2021Not reported
2020Annual total only223 †
2019Annual total only451 †

† Annual total only. For 2019, 2020, the FBI’s file places this agency’s whole year of arrests in a single month. Police Census shows the annual total as filed and no month-by-month figures for those years: a monthly table would show one month’s spike above zeros in the other eleven, which the source does not support.

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record FL0590300.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Longwood Police Department for 2007, as at 14 August 2026.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20072
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2007
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record FL0590300.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

1 person has died during an encounter with Longwood Police Department between 2026 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

1Deaths recorded
5.70Per 100,000 people policed
2026–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Mapping Police Violence, which records deaths from 2013–2026. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Longwood Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 2000 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm3
Knife or other cutting instrument1
Hands, fists or feet52
Other weapon21
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
20000020
20010022
20020021
20030022
20040001
20050011
20060031
20070023
20080031
20111000
20120030
20131030
20140021
20150012
20160030
20170042
20181051
20190010
20200010
20220161
20230030
20240022
20250010

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Seminole

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record FL0590300. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.