PoliceCensus

Home / States / Florida / Lakeland Police Department

Lakeland Police Department

City agency in Polk, Florida, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2023.

ORI
FL0531200
Type
City
County
Polk
State
Florida (FL)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2023-01-01
Location
28.0452, -81.9541

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 127,935.

271Sworn officers
108Civilian staff
2.96Employees per 1,000 people
127,935Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025271108127,9352.96
2024246110125,1932.84
2023255107123,2842.94
2022252106118,3653.02
2021248107117,2143.03
2020239112113,8763.08
2019236100112,2372.99
2018241110109,6163.20
2017230106107,9273.11
2016237116105,7663.34
2015221111103,4983.21
2014215109101,4283.19

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Lakeland Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1228213046.1%
20251247323048.6%
20241247319942.1%
20231249120742.2%
202212900.0%
20219 of 12100.0%
20201240415438.1%
20191235012736.3%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1297122222.9%
2025121,97035217.9%
2024122,13233815.9%
2023122,40530612.7%
2022123812.6%
20219 of 12200.0%
2020122,81637813.4%
2019123,23741612.9%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record FL0531200.

Arrests

Arrests made by Lakeland Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 121,798
2025122,858
2024122,865
2023122,801
2022Annual total only1 †
20219 of 120
2020Annual total only3,822 †
2019Annual total only4,686 †

† Annual total only. For 2019, 2020, 2022, the FBI’s file places this agency’s whole year of arrests in a single month. Police Census shows the annual total as filed and no month-by-month figures for those years: a monthly table would show one month’s spike above zeros in the other eleven, which the source does not support.

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record FL0531200.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Lakeland Police Department for 2024, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20242
20234
20121
20071
20061
20052
20041
20031
20024
20013
20006
19992
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1999–2024
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American14
Anti-Jewish4
Anti-White4
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry3
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)1
Anti-Other Religion1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record FL0531200.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

18 people have died during an encounter with Lakeland Police Department between 2002 and 2023, according to the two datasets named below.

18Deaths recorded
14.07Per 100,000 people policed
2002–2023Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot13
Vehicle5

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (11) and Mapping Police Violence (7). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Lakeland Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1998 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm16
Knife or other cutting instrument4
Hands, fists or feet364
Other weapon86
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19980073
19992075
20000064
20010064
20020042
20100100
20121042
20131021
20142061
20153070
20160020
20170153
20180021
20190053
20201165
2023311027
20243010024
2025009321

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$733,000Original acquisition value
1Line items received
2016–2016Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$733,0002016-01-14

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Polk

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record FL0531200. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.