PoliceCensus

Home / States / Florida / Broward County Sheriff's Office

Broward County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Broward, Florida, United States. This agency has no NIBRS start date on record. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for it, shown below; Police Census holds no crime counts or clearance rates for it.

ORI
FL0060000
Type
County
County
Broward
State
Florida (FL)
FBI reporting
No NIBRS start date
Location
26.1935, -80.4767

No crime counts or clearance rates are published for this jurisdiction. Broward County Sheriff's Office has no National Incident-Based Reporting System start date on record, and Police Census holds no crime or clearance figures for it. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for this agency; they are shown below.

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025.

1,794Sworn officers
2,899Civilian staff
0
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251,7942,8990—
202349782518,64470.91
20221,5981,02237,93869.06
20211,5311,04016,912152.02
20193909393,395391.46
20183651,26116,157100.64
20173,1882,15722,496237.60
20163,2102,18720,806259.40
20151,4711,42326,753108.17
20141,5181,46931,43895.01
20131,5061,44423,734124.29
20121,4891,38216,881170.07

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Arrests

Arrests made by Broward County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
2025Not reported
2024Not reported
2023Not reported
2022Not reported
2021Not reported
2020Annual total only2,257 †
2019Annual total only5,897 †

† Annual total only. For 2019, 2020, the FBI’s file places this agency’s whole year of arrests in a single month. Police Census shows the annual total as filed and no month-by-month figures for those years: a monthly table would show one month’s spike above zeros in the other eleven, which the source does not support.

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record FL0060000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Broward County Sheriff's Office for 2018, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20183
20171
20104
20092
20083
20071
20063
20051
20045
20024
20016
20004
19992
19984
19973
19965
19953
19945
19934
199221
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2018
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-White32
Anti-Black or African American27
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)10
Anti-Jewish7
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry4
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Other Religion1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record FL0060000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

80 people have died during an encounter with Broward County Sheriff's Office between 2000 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

80Deaths recorded
0
2000–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot63
Vehicle7
Tasered4
Medical emergency3
Police Dog1
Asphyxiated/Restrained1
Drowned1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (45) and Mapping Police Violence (35). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$480,381Original acquisition value
27Line items received
2000–2020Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mk3mod01$240,1912016-05-10
Truck,Utility1$143,5792010-01-06
Tool Kit,Explosive Ordnance Disposal1$81,3222016-06-01
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter20$14,9802017-09-18
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter2$2762000-02-07
Magazine,Cartridge825$332020-03-11

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Broward

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record FL0060000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.