PoliceCensus

Home / States / Delaware / State Police: New Castle County

State Police: New Castle County

State Police agency in New Castle, Delaware, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2001.

ORI
DE302SP00
Type
State Police
County
New Castle
State
Delaware (DE)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2001-01-01
Location
39.5759, -75.6441

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025.

261Sworn officers
25Civilian staff
0
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025261250—
2024261260—
2023252300—
2022249290—
2021268350—
2020264370—
2019271490—
2018270530—
2017268530—
2016265370—
2015273460—
2014269490—

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by State Police: New Castle County in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20265 of 1217214886.0%
20251245132371.6%
20241244432172.3%
20231242629168.3%
20221248433068.2%
20211247428059.1%
20201247129763.1%
20191242729869.8%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20265 of 121,49465844.0%
2025123,7011,62744.0%
2024124,2971,70839.7%
2023124,8151,41529.4%
2022124,9111,29226.3%
2021124,4391,09824.7%
2020123,6471,24234.1%
2019124,2561,56436.7%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record DE302SP00.

Arrests

Arrests made by State Police: New Castle County, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20265 of 121,605
2025124,171
2024123,944
2023123,717
2022123,345
2021123,141
2020123,086
2019123,977

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record DE302SP00.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for State Police: New Castle County for 2023, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20231
20221
20201
20193
20181
20173
20164
20142
20132
20121
20112
20103
20096
200810
20077
20068
20052
20046
20033
20021
20014
20008
199912
19979
199610
19959
199415
19932
19923
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2023
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American75
Anti-White18
Anti-Jewish7
Anti-Gay (Male)5
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)5
Anti-Other Religion5
Anti-Asian4
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)4
Anti-Multiple Races, Group4
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry4
Anti-Hispanic or Latino2
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group2
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Hindu1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Physical Disability1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record DE302SP00.

Also policing New Castle

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record DE302SP00. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.