PoliceCensus

Home / States / Delaware / State Police: Kent County

State Police: Kent County

State Police agency in Kent, Delaware, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2001.

ORI
DE301SP00
Type
State Police
County
Kent
State
Delaware (DE)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2001-01-01
Location
39.0971, -75.503

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 113,072.

324Sworn officers
210Civilian staff
4.72Employees per 1,000 people
113,072Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025324210113,0724.72
2024283201114,0684.24
2023274174111,9354.00
2022275160109,7813.96
2021289166113,5934.01
2020275166111,3263.96
2019260155108,7123.82
2018269147107,6743.86
2017265150106,6993.89
2016271174105,6164.21
2015257158105,3603.94
2014247156102,9823.91

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by State Police: Kent County in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20265 of 121069589.6%
20251225723892.6%
20241222019890.0%
20231229425988.1%
20221228122379.4%
20211224920180.7%
20201233023571.2%
20191228720772.1%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20265 of 121989849.5%
20251262230949.7%
20241264428143.6%
20231279037948.0%
20221289240645.5%
20211282633640.7%
20201284933739.7%
20191290342046.5%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record DE301SP00.

Arrests

Arrests made by State Police: Kent County, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20265 of 12770
2025122,287
2024121,937
2023121,837
2022121,711
2021121,652
2020121,472
2019121,865

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record DE301SP00.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for State Police: Kent County for 2018, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20181
20173
20161
20141
20131
20111
20101
20096
20086
20077
20067
20053
20047
20034
20012
19992
19975
19967
19951
19941
19931
19925
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1992–2018
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American48
Anti-White7
Anti-Gay (Male)4
Anti-Other Religion4
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)3
Anti-Multiple Races, Group3
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1
Anti-Jewish1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record DE301SP00.

Also policing Kent

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record DE301SP00. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.