PoliceCensus

Home / States / Connecticut / Hartford Police Department

Hartford Police Department

City agency in Capitol Planning Region, Connecticut, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2020.

ORI
CT0006400
Type
City
County
Capitol Planning Region
State
Connecticut (CT)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2020-12-01
Location
41.8061, -72.7329

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 122,548.

373Sworn officers
29Civilian staff
3.28Employees per 1,000 people
122,548Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202537329122,5483.28
202436326119,6263.25
202337736120,7103.42
202239124120,1963.45
202139524121,1603.46
202043028121,7493.76
201944736122,2453.95
201839431123,1173.45
201739045122,8913.54
201639832123,7363.48
201541345124,5533.68
201442034124,9433.63

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Hartford Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1236113637.7%
20251256322840.5%
20241263121233.6%
20231270820929.5%
20221273426135.6%
20211292727229.3%
2020121,20848840.4%
2019121,04946444.2%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 121,6041539.5%
2025122,7722729.8%
2024123,5292376.7%
2023123,4832767.9%
2022123,1932738.5%
2021124,0412536.3%
2020123,8422095.4%
2019123,4743419.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CT0006400.

Arrests

Arrests made by Hartford Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 122,340
2025123,543
2024123,676
2023123,152
2022124,556
2021124,570
2020126,933
2019129,350

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CT0006400.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Hartford Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20252
20241
20231
20212
20202
20187
20174
20166
20152
20134
20124
20115
201012
20095
20083
20072
20051
20041
20034
20023
20012
20003
19995
19981
19972
19963
19954
19948
19931
199213
19911
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Gay (Male)32
Anti-Black or African American24
Anti-White21
Anti-Hispanic or Latino8
Anti-Jewish6
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry6
Anti-Multiple Races, Group4
Anti-Lesbian (Female)3
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)3
Anti-Arab2
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Hindu1
Anti-Protestant1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CT0006400.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

18 people have died during an encounter with Hartford Police Department between 2000 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

18Deaths recorded
14.69Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot15
Medical emergency1
Taser1
Vehicle1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (10) and Mapping Police Violence (8). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Hartford Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm22
Knife or other cutting instrument23
Hands, fists or feet1,195
Other weapon315
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
1995325416
1996315315
1997124717
1998125817
1999004714
200000355
200103438
2002014015
200310419
2004103012
200510379
200600364
200700375
200821329
200910294
2010344016
2011024319
2012003310
2013123412
201400469
2015013916
201600391
201711364
201801388
201920268
202010324
2021003313
202200349
2023003311
202400227
202500489

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$871,835Original acquisition value
13Line items received
1993–2016Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$689,0002014-03-28
Only Complete Combat/Assault/Tactical Wheeled Vehicles1$150,0001998-10-20
Underwater Sound Equipment4$20,0002016-09-27
Sight,Thermal1$11,9992016-11-30
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter4$5521993-05-24
Pistol,Caliber .45,Automatic3$1761999-05-10
Shotgun,12 Gage,Riot Type1$1082006-09-25

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Capitol Planning Region

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CT0006400. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.