PoliceCensus

Home / States / Connecticut / Groton Police Department

Groton Police Department

City agency in Southeastern Connecticut Planning Region, Connecticut, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1998.

ORI
CT0005900
Type
City
County
Southeastern Connecticut Planning Region
State
Connecticut (CT)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1998-02-01
Location
41.3551, -72.0722

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 10,378.

28Sworn officers
9Civilian staff
3.57Employees per 1,000 people
10,378Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202528910,3783.57
20242979,2823.88
20232769,3433.53
20222869,3233.65
20212678,8233.74
20202678,8613.72
20192778,9673.79
20182679,0513.65
20172879,0933.85
20162779,1893.70
20152779,2783.66
20142779,3383.64

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Groton Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1222100.0%
20251212650.0%
202412201155.0%
202312171164.7%
202212201365.0%
202112211361.9%
202012231982.6%
201912161381.3%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1225936.0%
202512531222.6%
202412692231.9%
202312601728.3%
202212771924.7%
202112791215.2%
2020129355.4%
2019121022524.5%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CT0005900.

Arrests

Arrests made by Groton Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 12133
202512313
202412388
202312395
202212497
202112428
202012269
201912337

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CT0005900.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Groton Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
20201
20181
20171
20161
20132
20121
20071
20061
20051
20043
20031
20023
20002
19992
19983
19972
19962
19952
19941
19931
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1993–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American13
Anti-Jewish7
Anti-White5
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Gay (Male)1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CT0005900.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

1 person has died during an encounter with Groton Police Department between 2019 and 2019, according to the two datasets named below.

1Deaths recorded
9.64Per 100,000 people policed
2019–2019Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Fatal Encounters, which records deaths from 2000–2021. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Groton Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1999 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument0
Hands, fists or feet24
Other weapon2
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19990020
20010040
20040040
20070010
20080010
20090021
20100010
20130020
20150010
20210011
20220030
20250020

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Southeastern Connecticut Planning Region

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CT0005900. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.