PoliceCensus

Home / States / Colorado / State Patrol

State Patrol

State Police agency in Colorado, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2006.

ORI
COCSP0000
Type
State Police
County
Not stated
State
Colorado (CO)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2006-01-01
Location
39.7275, -105.1097

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025.

706Sworn officers
393Civilian staff
0
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20257063930—
20247233690—
20237273780—
20227093700—
20217373630—
20207383560—
20197823730—
20187982180—
20177903850—
20167423860—
20157633990—
20143897690—

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by State Patrol in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1222100.0%
2025121616100.0%
20241266100.0%
2023121111100.0%
2022121919100.0%
2021121515100.0%
2020121717100.0%
2019122424100.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1211100.0%
20251267116.7%
20241266100.0%
202312181688.9%
2022121010100.0%
202112252496.0%
202012453680.0%
201912161593.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record COCSP0000.

Arrests

Arrests made by State Patrol, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 122,633
2025124,976
2024125,247
2023125,606
2022125,672
2021126,541
2020126,265
2019127,375

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record COCSP0000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for State Patrol for 2023, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20231
20131
20101
19941
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1994–2023
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record COCSP0000.

Assaults on officers

Officers of State Patrol assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm12
Knife or other cutting instrument8
Hands, fists or feet188
Other weapon92
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950191
19961052
19971043
19980052
19991041
20000052
20010063
20031041
20041132
20050043
20061175
20070064
20081074
200900121
20100066
20110172
20120064
20131045
20140154
20150043
20160041
201700134
20180072
2019031210
202010115
20210082
20221051
20231022
20240070
20251067

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record COCSP0000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.