PoliceCensus

Home / States / Colorado / Jefferson County Sheriff's Office

Jefferson County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Jefferson, Colorado, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1997.

ORI
CO0300000
Type
County
County
Jefferson
State
Colorado (CO)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1997-01-01
Location
39.7297, -105.2028

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 197,128.

365Sworn officers
409Civilian staff
3.93Employees per 1,000 people
197,128Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025365409197,1283.93
2024367366199,7833.67
2023390357194,9943.83
2022531223194,5143.88
2021381358193,4513.82
2020418301199,1693.61
2019532229199,1523.82
2018483310200,8003.95
2017530254197,1733.98
2016531280197,4684.11
2015535284197,9324.14
2014495308197,3564.07

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Jefferson County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1221911653.0%
20251245320144.4%
20241243217741.0%
20231234815544.5%
20221242114133.5%
20211239813634.2%
20201233113039.3%
20191227413950.7%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1298117417.7%
2025121,81431317.3%
2024122,39532213.4%
2023122,5652168.4%
2022123,3981795.3%
2021123,3392437.3%
2020123,2732276.9%
2019123,1473119.9%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CO0300000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Jefferson County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 121,192
2025121,714
2024121,704
2023121,453
2022121,437
2021122,086
2020122,211
2019123,888

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CO0300000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Jefferson County Sheriff's Office for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20253
20241
20232
20226
20214
20208
20198
20188
20172
20151
20141
20126
20101
20091
20081
20072
20061
20054
20041
20031
19971
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1997–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American19
Anti-Jewish10
Anti-Gay (Male)6
Anti-Hispanic or Latino5
Anti-White4
Anti-Lesbian (Female)3
Anti-Transgender3
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)2
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)2
Anti-Multiple Races, Group2
Anti-Other Religion2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming1
Anti-Other Christian1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CO0300000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

13 people have died during an encounter with Jefferson County Sheriff's Office between 2000 and 2024, according to the two datasets named below.

13Deaths recorded
6.59Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2024Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot9
Vehicle2
Taser1
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (8) and Fatal Encounters (5). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Also policing Jefferson

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CO0300000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.