PoliceCensus

Home / States / Colorado / Fort Collins Police Department

Fort Collins Police Department

City agency in Larimer, Colorado, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2006.

ORI
CO0350300
Type
City
County
Larimer
State
Colorado (CO)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2006-01-01
Location
40.5889, -105.0808

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 171,159.

241Sworn officers
120Civilian staff
2.11Employees per 1,000 people
171,159Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025241120171,1592.11
2024232116170,5092.04
2023220111168,8861.96
2022212110168,0451.92
202121499170,7441.83
2020222101173,2741.86
2019214103170,8891.86
201820795168,1631.80
2017205110167,6331.88
201620686164,6701.77
2015211122159,6292.09
201419697154,0151.90

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Fort Collins Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1224319781.1%
20251249437375.5%
20241247432568.6%
20231250536572.3%
20221255140573.5%
20211252632261.2%
20201245527961.3%
20191238224163.1%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 121,24746637.4%
2025123,03484727.9%
2024123,71488523.8%
2023124,16484920.4%
2022124,42475317.0%
2021123,55959916.8%
2020123,68585223.1%
2019123,73481221.7%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CO0350300.

Arrests

Arrests made by Fort Collins Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 123,882
2025126,047
2024126,080
2023125,846
2022125,584
2021125,069
2020125,007
2019125,596

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CO0350300.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

8 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Fort Collins Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20258
202411
202311
20228
20217
20202
20196
20185
20162
20154
20143
20122
20116
20107
20098
20085
20078
20065
20051
20022
20018
20003
19994
19984
19951
19945
199310
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1993–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American41
Anti-Hispanic or Latino18
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)16
Anti-Gay (Male)11
Anti-Asian10
Anti-Arab9
Anti-Lesbian (Female)7
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)5
Anti-White5
Anti-Multiple Races, Group4
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry4
Anti-Transgender4
Anti-Jewish3
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native2
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group2
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Other Christian1

3 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CO0350300.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

13 people have died during an encounter with Fort Collins Police Department between 2002 and 2024, according to the two datasets named below.

13Deaths recorded
7.60Per 100,000 people policed
2002–2024Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot9
Gunshot, Taser2
Vehicle2

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (7) and Mapping Police Violence (6). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Fort Collins Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm20
Knife or other cutting instrument56
Hands, fists or feet813
Other weapon117
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950110
19960021
19970073
19980071
19990040
20000010
20010031
20021010
20030062
20040021
20060076
200701162
200800124
200910171
201011115
201101123
201200110
20130071
201431150
201500211
201601232
201703334
201804442
201905387
202033435
202123738
202211610724
20234101188
2024429613
2025047512

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Larimer

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CO0350300. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.