PoliceCensus

Home / States / Colorado / Denver Police Department

Denver Police Department

City agency in Denver, Colorado, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2005.

ORI
CODPD0000
Type
City
County
Denver
State
Colorado (CO)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2005-01-01
Location
39.7374, -104.9917

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 733,212.

1,562Sworn officers
267Civilian staff
2.49Employees per 1,000 people
733,212Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251,562267733,2122.49
20241,536295722,0312.54
20231,508327712,2222.58
20221,512319705,2642.60
20211,447337740,2092.41
20201,552266737,7092.46
20191,551308728,9412.55
20181,517307720,7452.53
20171,479295706,6162.51
20161,483316699,2592.57
20151,468267682,4182.54
20141,430265665,3532.55

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Denver Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 123,7832,14356.6%
2025126,4633,67356.8%
2024127,2173,82953.1%
2023127,3193,84652.5%
2022127,5863,67548.4%
2021126,9383,52150.7%
2020126,4013,19749.9%
2019125,5212,93453.1%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1218,6501,97910.6%
20251230,3703,42611.3%
20241234,5183,52210.2%
20231241,1583,1167.6%
20221245,5793,1396.9%
20211243,0583,3397.8%
20201234,5483,3859.8%
20191227,4643,86814.1%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CODPD0000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Denver Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 1216,365
20251223,766
20241224,357
20231222,185
20221219,560
20211218,661
20201220,044
20191226,683

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CODPD0000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

65 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Denver Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202565
202497
2023104
202283
202177
202081
201982
201822
201711
201619
201520
201416
201330
201245
201125
201043
200961
200837
200724
200611
200512
20047
20036
20023
200116
20007
199919
19986
19974
19968
199519
199422
199345
199243
199140
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American266
Anti-Gay (Male)201
Anti-Jewish130
Anti-White126
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)125
Anti-Hispanic or Latino99
Anti-Lesbian (Female)37
Anti-Transgender35
Anti-Asian32
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry32
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)25
Anti-Multiple Races, Group25
Anti-Arab16
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native14
Anti-Other Religion10
Anti-Physical Disability8
Anti-Catholic7
Anti-Bisexual3
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group3
Anti-Other Christian3
Anti-Atheism/Agnosticism2
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming2
Anti-Mental Disability2
Anti-Church of Jesus Christ1
Anti-Hindu1

5 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CODPD0000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

124 people have died during an encounter with Denver Police Department between 2000 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

124Deaths recorded
16.91Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot108
Vehicle8
Tasered4
Asphyxiated/Restrained3
Gunshot, Taser1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (67) and Mapping Police Violence (57). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Denver Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm323
Knife or other cutting instrument229
Hands, fists or feet5,308
Other weapon1,733
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19951172
1996942713
199771138
199801186
1999211611
2000212010
2001112012
2002441815
2003301220
200400039
2005543919
2006805119
2007543814
2008153414
2009513217
2010121610
201112168
201222168
2013633210
2014573217
2015953126
2016732827
201718219970
20181325585122
20192911518153
2020216475262
20213241472126
20222924556178
20234533517123
20242312516147
20252923954227

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Denver

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CODPD0000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.