PoliceCensus

Home / States / Colorado / Colorado Springs Police Department

Colorado Springs Police Department

City agency in El Paso, Colorado, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1997.

ORI
CO0210100
Type
City
County
El Paso
State
Colorado (CO)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1997-01-01
Location
38.8244, -104.8221

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 496,560.

749Sworn officers
330Civilian staff
2.17Employees per 1,000 people
496,560Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025749330496,5602.17
2024725377491,4742.24
2023772355489,2542.30
2022732310487,7282.14
2021766289488,7472.16
2020725293485,0832.10
2019725303479,6482.14
2018702293471,1242.11
2017707290472,9582.11
2016645279464,1131.99
2015635278452,4102.02
2014668285444,9492.14

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Colorado Springs Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 122,16486640.0%
2025123,4281,65648.3%
2024123,5491,62545.8%
2023123,4101,39340.9%
2022123,1571,46046.2%
2021122,95274025.1%
2020122,9771,55952.4%
2019122,7961,45151.9%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 128,7741,56717.9%
20251215,0432,60517.3%
20241217,1472,59915.2%
20231218,2792,53713.9%
20221216,8101,99811.9%
20211216,5591,99412.0%
20201216,5503,11218.8%
20191217,7683,60820.3%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CO0210100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Colorado Springs Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 1211,259
20251219,181
20241217,382
20231216,329
20221214,995
20211210,894
20201216,642
20191219,474

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CO0210100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Colorado Springs Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20253
20241
20232
202214
202115
202020
201914
20187
20171
20166
20158
20147
20137
201218
201110
201015
200923
200814
20077
200620
200510
20046
200312
200229
200129
200026
199937
199827
199720
199623
199514
19946
199315
199225
199110
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American208
Anti-White47
Anti-Hispanic or Latino43
Anti-Gay (Male)42
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group29
Anti-Jewish26
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)16
Anti-Asian15
Anti-Multiple Races, Group14
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)11
Anti-Lesbian (Female)11
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry10
Anti-Bisexual5
Anti-Other Religion5
Anti-Protestant5
Anti-Catholic4
Anti-Other Christian4
Anti-Arab3
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Heterosexual1
Anti-Jehovah's Witness1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CO0210100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

73 people have died during an encounter with Colorado Springs Police Department between 2000 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

73Deaths recorded
14.70Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot64
Vehicle5
Beaten/Bludgeoned with instrument1
Physical Restraint1
Taser1
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (40) and Fatal Encounters (33). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Colorado Springs Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm176
Knife or other cutting instrument124
Hands, fists or feet1,388
Other weapon455
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199555157
19965265
19971366
19982024
199942159
2000211010
200123124
200323104
200432117
200561144
200622177
200715235
200802165
20093196
201041225
20112297
201220112
2013501915
2014011811
201533227
201670278
2017928813
2018649923
20192691386
2020122124538
20211016318
20223210615
202391213741
202418312347
2025223195116

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$465,506Original acquisition value
21Line items received
1993–2021Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Truck,Utility4$240,0082013-08-15
Unmanned Vehicle,Ground1$221,3192018-04-26
Rifle,7.62 Millimeter14$3,0721996-08-14
Sight,Holographic3$6082021-04-01
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter1$4992006-06-09

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing El Paso

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CO0210100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.