PoliceCensus

Home / States / Colorado / Boulder Police Department

Boulder Police Department

City agency in Boulder, Colorado, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2010.

ORI
CO0070100
Type
City
County
Boulder
State
Colorado (CO)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2010-01-01
Location
40.0189, -105.2499

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 106,426.

187Sworn officers
86Civilian staff
2.57Employees per 1,000 people
106,426Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202518786106,4262.57
202417689105,1952.52
202317385104,2322.48
202216589103,0992.46
202116081108,6982.22
202017688106,5982.48
201917794108,5192.50
201817389108,3802.42
201717190109,7222.38
201617691109,1892.45
201517794106,8232.54
201417486104,2842.49

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Boulder Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 122089646.2%
20251237716844.6%
20241234219958.2%
20231237425768.7%
20221239124963.7%
20211242425660.4%
20201234720358.5%
20191228316859.4%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 121,41825618.1%
2025122,58050619.6%
2024122,93344515.2%
2023123,26847114.4%
2022123,14138312.2%
2021123,79445311.9%
2020124,08259714.6%
2019123,32564619.4%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CO0070100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Boulder Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 121,657
2025123,201
2024123,103
2023122,989
2022121,660
2021123,133
2020123,236
2019124,434

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CO0070100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

8 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Boulder Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20258
20247
20235
20227
20212
202010
20198
20182
20171
20164
20151
20121
20112
20103
20095
20085
200710
20065
200510
20043
20032
20022
200113
20004
19997
19982
19977
19966
199517
199426
199312
19929
19912
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1991–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American71
Anti-Jewish29
Anti-Hispanic or Latino25
Anti-Asian18
Anti-Gay (Male)18
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)12
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)7
Anti-White7
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry5
Anti-Catholic3
Anti-Lesbian (Female)3
Anti-Arab2
Anti-Multiple Races, Group2
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Heterosexual1
Anti-Mental Disability1
Anti-Transgender1

2 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CO0070100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

8 people have died during an encounter with Boulder Police Department between 2008 and 2023, according to the two datasets named below.

8Deaths recorded
7.52Per 100,000 people policed
2008–2023Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot7
Gunshot, Taser1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (6) and Fatal Encounters (2). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Boulder Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm14
Knife or other cutting instrument27
Hands, fists or feet1,185
Other weapon190
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199500222
199600312
199710342
199801312
199911393
200002424
200101434
200211504
200302384
200400262
200500242
200601304
200700323
200810351
20090010
20100084
201100172
201201145
201300148
201411155
201502265
201601166
2017001411
2018706215
201902463
2020124210
2021013917
2022109329
20230215817
202405746
202501698

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$77,060Original acquisition value
1Line items received
2021–2021Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Unmanned Vehicle,Ground1$77,0602021-01-15

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Boulder

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CO0070100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.