PoliceCensus

Home / States / California / University of California: Irvine

University of California: Irvine

University or College agency in Orange, California, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2022.

ORI
CA0309700
Type
University or College
County
Orange
State
California (CA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2022-03-01
Location
33.6757, -117.7772

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025.

40Sworn officers
165Civilian staff
0
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025401650—
202448950—
202344690—
202245640—
202146590—
202047600—
201945550—
201839190—
201738170—
201641180—
201533210—
201430150—

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by University of California: Irvine in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1220210.0%
20251216743.8%
2024121218.3%
20231212216.7%
20221222418.2%
2021Not reported
202012311651.6%
20191221942.9%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 12246176.9%
202512574142.4%
202412569111.9%
202312488193.9%
202212493214.3%
2021Not reported
2020124435312.0%
201912467296.2%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CA0309700.

Arrests

Arrests made by University of California: Irvine, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 1257
202512115
202412197
202312119
202212164
2021Not reported
202012453
201912219

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CA0309700.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for University of California: Irvine for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20253
20241
20236
20222
20211
20204
20191
20121
20051
20011
20001
19997
19981
19972
19963
19951
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American10
Anti-Asian6
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry5
Anti-Gay (Male)3
Anti-Hispanic or Latino3
Anti-Jewish3
Anti-White3
Anti-Multiple Races, Group2
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CA0309700.

Also policing Orange

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CA0309700. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.