PoliceCensus

Home / States / California / Stockton Police Department

Stockton Police Department

City agency in San Joaquin, California, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
CA0390500
Type
City
County
San Joaquin
State
California (CA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-03-01
Location
37.935, -121.2722

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 325,985.

371Sworn officers
191Civilian staff
1.72Employees per 1,000 people
325,985Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025371191325,9851.72
2024382192319,0691.80
2023349184322,2201.65
2022379187323,5011.75
2021432183314,7641.95
2020468195314,9812.10
2019459205313,6042.12
2018469202313,1582.14
2017441204309,5662.08
2016412198308,3481.98
2015389182304,8901.87
2014371181299,5191.84

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Stockton Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 122,11467632.0%
2025123,35395528.5%
2024123,66795125.9%
2023123,70189424.2%
2022123,69089624.3%
202110 of 123,08881826.5%
2020124,0231,43835.7%
2019124,3801,37931.5%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 124,8794609.4%
2025127,5636548.6%
2024128,6198399.7%
2023129,9708428.4%
2022129,0396747.5%
202110 of 127,0854516.4%
2020129,5787327.6%
20191212,4958306.6%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CA0390500.

Arrests

Arrests made by Stockton Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 123,643
2025125,264
2024124,918
2023124,500
2022124,631
202110 of 124,336
2020126,584
2019127,950

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CA0390500.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

13 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Stockton Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202513
20249
20238
202217
202126
20206
20194
20184
20176
20163
20154
20143
20132
20122
20113
20102
20093
20087
200710
20065
20058
200413
20039
20023
20018
200012
199912
199815
19976
199612
19957
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American88
Anti-Hispanic or Latino31
Anti-Gay (Male)24
Anti-White16
Anti-Asian13
Anti-Jewish12
Anti-Multiple Races, Group10
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry10
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)6
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)5
Anti-Other Religion4
Anti-Catholic3
Anti-Lesbian (Female)3
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group3
Anti-Physical Disability2
Anti-Protestant2
Anti-Transgender2
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Female1
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming1

5 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CA0390500.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

61 people have died during an encounter with Stockton Police Department between 2000 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

61Deaths recorded
18.71Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot43
Vehicle9
Gunshot, Taser2
Taser2
Asphyxiated/Restrained1
Physical Restraint1
Beaten/Bludgeoned with instrument1
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (35) and Mapping Police Violence (26). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Stockton Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm53
Knife or other cutting instrument42
Hands, fists or feet1,521
Other weapon352
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199554466
199611429
1997014910
199822519
199912498
2000103611
2001323715
2002414512
200310338
200411468
2005103216
200600309
200701193
200800225
2009103111
201010257
201110182
201221204
201310255
201400274
201510269
2016314516
2017014112
201800316
201910244
202001205
20222313827
20232813320
20245515619
202513722472

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$733,000Original acquisition value
1Line items received
2014–2014Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$733,0002014-02-13

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing San Joaquin

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CA0390500. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.