PoliceCensus

Home / States / California / Santa Rosa Police Department

Santa Rosa Police Department

City agency in Sonoma, California, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2022.

ORI
CA0490500
Type
City
County
Sonoma
State
California (CA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2022-04-01
Location
38.525, -122.9376

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 177,414.

170Sworn officers
71Civilian staff
1.36Employees per 1,000 people
177,414Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202517071177,4141.36
202418173175,1471.45
202317587176,8551.48
202215779175,9991.34
202116476174,5621.37
202017478176,9321.42
201916677177,8841.37
201817076176,3251.40
201717378176,3611.42
201617279176,3831.42
201516378175,7381.37
201416672172,9911.38

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Santa Rosa Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1234622063.6%
20251251827252.5%
20241261729948.5%
20231259427846.8%
20221260328547.3%
2021Not reported
20201291359064.6%
20191285759169.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 121,62035021.6%
2025122,55555121.6%
2024122,37339916.8%
2023122,64428210.7%
2022122,46326610.8%
2021Not reported
2020122,86328710.0%
2019122,90243415.0%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CA0490500.

Arrests

Arrests made by Santa Rosa Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 123,852
2025125,763
2024125,670
2023126,246
2022124,921
2021Not reported
2020124,631
2019129,782

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CA0490500.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Santa Rosa Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20253
20245
20237
20227
202110
202011
20195
20186
20172
20161
20152
20133
20121
20111
20102
20091
20081
20075
20066
20058
20045
20032
20026
20017
20009
199912
199810
19978
19969
19955
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American37
Anti-Gay (Male)31
Anti-Jewish25
Anti-Hispanic or Latino15
Anti-Lesbian (Female)9
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)7
Anti-Multiple Races, Group7
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry6
Anti-White6
Anti-Asian4
Anti-Other Religion2
Anti-Protestant2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Female1
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group1
Anti-Sikh1

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CA0490500.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

13 people have died during an encounter with Santa Rosa Police Department between 2002 and 2025, according to the two datasets named below.

13Deaths recorded
7.33Per 100,000 people policed
2002–2025Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot6
Medical emergency2
Vehicle2
Gunshot, Taser1
Taser1
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (10) and Mapping Police Violence (3). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Santa Rosa Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm28
Knife or other cutting instrument22
Hands, fists or feet1,783
Other weapon212
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199500163
19961022
199721151
199800102
199910110
200020184
200100152
200201172
200301132
200401205
200512235
200612262
200701192
200801185
200900181
201010153
201111172
201200150
201300285
201401153
20150060
20160020
201701174
201812224
201901132
202001117
20220123647
20236437411
202411046268
20250030918

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Sonoma

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CA0490500. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.