PoliceCensus

Home / States / California / Santa Ana Police Department

Santa Ana Police Department

City agency in Orange, California, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2022.

ORI
CA0301900
Type
City
County
Orange
State
California (CA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2022-08-01
Location
33.6757, -117.7772

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 317,439.

344Sworn officers
223Civilian staff
1.79Employees per 1,000 people
317,439Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025344223317,4391.79
2024338213310,3041.78
2023350219307,3271.85
2022355219308,9951.86
2021361227331,9341.77
2020366228333,1071.78
2019340218333,6641.67
2018313220335,4031.59
2017325212335,6991.60
2016310213337,4191.55
2015302225337,3041.56
2014264232336,4621.47

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Santa Ana Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1249315832.0%
2025121,06935333.0%
2024121,54657537.2%
2023121,74567538.7%
202211 of 121,21445437.4%
2021Not reported
2020121,42955638.9%
2019121,45356839.1%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 121,9491135.8%
2025124,2172816.7%
2024125,3443456.5%
2023126,3274707.4%
202211 of 125,3524027.5%
2021Not reported
2020126,9906379.1%
2019126,85775211.0%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CA0301900.

Arrests

Arrests made by Santa Ana Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 125,725
2025129,551
2024128,462
2023127,591
202211 of 127,078
2021Not reported
2020127,661
2019128,271

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CA0301900.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

5 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Santa Ana Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20255
20248
202317
202232
202118
202016
201911
201813
20173
20166
201510
20147
20131
20127
201112
20104
20093
20081
20063
20054
20042
20032
20021
20015
20001
19991
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1999–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American37
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)20
Anti-Other Religion19
Anti-Hispanic or Latino17
Anti-Gay (Male)16
Anti-Jewish10
Anti-Protestant10
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group9
Anti-Catholic8
Anti-Transgender8
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry7
Anti-Multiple Races, Group6
Anti-Other Christian6
Anti-Buddhist4
Anti-Asian3
Anti-White3
Anti-Arab2
Anti-Eastern Orthodox (Russian, Greek, Other)2
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)2
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Physical Disability1

2 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CA0301900.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

62 people have died during an encounter with Santa Ana Police Department between 2000 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

62Deaths recorded
19.53Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot46
Vehicle7
Asphyxiated/Restrained2
Medical emergency2
Tasered2
Gunshot, Taser1
Undetermined1
Physical Restraint1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (37) and Mapping Police Violence (25). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Santa Ana Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm58
Knife or other cutting instrument47
Hands, fists or feet1,072
Other weapon317
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199530244
199645257
1997313112
199843247
199922167
200031224
200141247
200240256
200332204
2004302017
2005012913
2006012411
200720287
2008212811
200921298
201031376
201112378
2012222611
201331323
201401238
2015133211
2016323110
2017022513
2018102613
2019023917
2020014014
202200125
2023027912
2024029622
20255716839

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Orange

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CA0301900. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.