PoliceCensus

Home / States / California / San Luis Obispo Police Department

San Luis Obispo Police Department

City agency in San Luis Obispo, California, United States. This agency has no NIBRS start date on record. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for it, shown below; Police Census holds no crime counts or clearance rates for it.

ORI
CA0400600
Type
City
County
San Luis Obispo
State
California (CA)
FBI reporting
No NIBRS start date
Location
35.2854, -120.6636

No crime counts or clearance rates are published for this jurisdiction. San Luis Obispo Police Department has no National Incident-Based Reporting System start date on record, and Police Census holds no crime or clearance figures for it. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for this agency; they are shown below.

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 50,385.

58Sworn officers
33Civilian staff
1.81Employees per 1,000 people
50,385Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025583350,3851.81
2024563549,9481.82
2023542948,9471.70
2022562747,9901.73
2021572947,8371.80
2020592547,7221.76
2019612847,7351.86
2018572347,8851.67
2017572347,9341.67
2016552347,7741.63
2015592447,1161.76
2014592346,6721.76

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Arrests

Arrests made by San Luis Obispo Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
2025120
2024120
2023121,691
2022121,881
2021Not reported
2020122,018
2019122,623

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CA0400600.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

6 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for San Luis Obispo Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20256
202410
20238
202213
202116
202011
201910
20186
20175
20162
20141
20132
20124
20113
20103
20097
20088
200710
20062
20056
20049
20037
20025
20013
20001
19991
19984
19961
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1996–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American51
Anti-Hispanic or Latino19
Anti-Jewish19
Anti-Asian13
Anti-Gay (Male)13
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)13
Anti-Lesbian (Female)5
Anti-Multiple Races, Group5
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry4
Anti-Other Religion4
Anti-Transgender3
Anti-White3
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)2
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group2
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native1
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Church of Jesus Christ1
Anti-Female1
Anti-Mental Disability1

3 of these incidents record more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CA0400600.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

3 people have died during an encounter with San Luis Obispo Police Department between 2020 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

3Deaths recorded
5.95Per 100,000 people policed
2020–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot2
Fell from a height1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (2) and Fatal Encounters (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of San Luis Obispo Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm13
Knife or other cutting instrument35
Hands, fists or feet1,135
Other weapon135
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950173
199603114
199702185
199800224
199900151
200010222
200100103
200201101
200320122
200400172
20050091
200602223
200701263
200800200
200900272
201000224
201111313
201200193
201300353
201403332
201500334
201602336
201711228
201802281
201901295
202012261
20224211423
20231917514
2024001759
20252211213

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$367,161Original acquisition value
89Line items received
2011–2026Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Image Intensifier N30$312,0602026-03-01
Thermal Imagining Equipment2$37,0002011-10-15
Sight,Reflex61$14,2382014-03-25
Illuminator,Integrated,Small Arms23$2,9102018-01-09
Sight,Rear49$5042013-03-13
Lens,Infrared Receiver10$2092011-10-04
Coveralls,Toxicological Agents Protective20$1552012-04-07
Magazine,Cartridge533$652012-10-24
Adapter Rail,Weapon Mounted30$202012-12-18

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing San Luis Obispo

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CA0400600. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.