PoliceCensus

Home / States / California / Palm Desert Police Department

Palm Desert Police Department

City agency in Riverside, California, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2026.

ORI
CA0331800
Type
City
County
Riverside
State
California (CA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2026-01-01
Location
33.978, -117.374

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2015, covering a population of 51,847.

1Sworn officers
0Civilian staff
0.02Employees per 1,000 people
51,847Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20151051,8470.02
20141050,9710.02
20111049,0150.02
19980028,9230.00
1971000—

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Palm Desert Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 12895157.3%
202512744763.5%
2024121697745.6%
2023121444732.6%
2022121826334.6%
2021Not reported
2020121255443.2%
2019121366044.1%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1258419032.5%
2025121,12418616.5%
2024121,48021114.3%
2023121,88319510.4%
2022122,0241346.6%
2021Not reported
2020121,5681097.0%
2019121,8541608.6%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CA0331800.

Arrests

Arrests made by Palm Desert Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 12812
2025120
2024120
202312788
2022121,390
2021Not reported
202012951
2019121,084

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CA0331800.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Palm Desert Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
20221
20211
20151
20121
20111
20074
20064
200512
20041
20031
19961
19953
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Jewish9
Anti-Gay (Male)7
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)6
Anti-Black or African American5
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry3
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-White1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CA0331800.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Palm Desert Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm0
Knife or other cutting instrument2
Hands, fists or feet127
Other weapon23
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950063
19960020
19970050
19980060
19990010
20000010
20010071
20020142
20030041
20040051
200500102
20060052
200700110
20080031
200900121
20100050
20110180
20120040
20130041
20140030
20150051
20160012
20180020
20190021
20200001
20220031
20230012
20240030
20250040

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Riverside

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CA0331800. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.