PoliceCensus

Home / States / California / Ontario Police Department

Ontario Police Department

City agency in San Bernardino, California, United States. This agency has no NIBRS start date on record. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for it, shown below; Police Census holds no crime counts or clearance rates for it.

ORI
CA0360700
Type
City
County
San Bernardino
State
California (CA)
FBI reporting
No NIBRS start date
Location
34.0276, -117.5932

No crime counts or clearance rates are published for this jurisdiction. Ontario Police Department has no National Incident-Based Reporting System start date on record, and Police Census holds no crime or clearance figures for it. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for this agency; they are shown below.

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 187,756.

304Sworn officers
104Civilian staff
2.17Employees per 1,000 people
187,756Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025304104187,7562.17
2024299101184,7632.16
202328787180,6882.07
202227882180,0042.00
202126178185,4141.83
202025879187,4641.80
2019283105183,3222.12
2018280101177,5422.15
2017273100174,7242.13
201625485172,6061.96
201523487170,2741.89
201422894168,2781.91

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Arrests

Arrests made by Ontario Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
2025120
2024120
2023123,624
2022125,301
2021Not reported
2020127,527
2019127,896

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CA0360700.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Ontario Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
20242
20211
20191
20172
20152
20131
20122
20112
20102
20092
20086
20072
20062
20051
20031
20021
20014
20002
19992
19981
19971
19961
19953
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American26
Anti-Jewish4
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry4
Anti-Gay (Male)3
Anti-Asian2
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Other Religion1
Anti-Physical Disability1

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CA0360700.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

34 people have died during an encounter with Ontario Police Department between 2000 and 2026, according to the two datasets named below.

34Deaths recorded
18.11Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2026Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot28
Vehicle5
Undetermined1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (21) and Mapping Police Violence (13). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Ontario Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm27
Knife or other cutting instrument15
Hands, fists or feet477
Other weapon182
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
1995501912
199620134
199711248
1998312311
199910202
2000011412
200141139
2002011515
200300910
20040186
200500134
200610138
200710146
200841154
2009101210
201010146
201100122
20120171
201300124
201401126
201510212
201600143
201700122
201802120
201901124
202001174
202200267
202311237
202411316
202500277

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing San Bernardino

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CA0360700. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.