PoliceCensus

Home / States / California / National City Police Department

National City Police Department

City agency in San Diego, California, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
CA0370900
Type
City
County
San Diego
State
California (CA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-01-01
Location
32.6723, -117.1056

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 57,748.

85Sworn officers
39Civilian staff
2.15Employees per 1,000 people
57,748Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025853957,7482.15
2024883454,9152.22
2023863555,2702.19
2022843155,6762.07
2021843861,1711.99
2020823261,7101.85
2019844061,7912.01
2018833961,7631.98
2017853461,5741.93
2016863461,5501.95
2015813160,7681.84
2014832960,1301.86

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by National City Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1229020972.1%
20251236823263.0%
20241238721956.6%
20231236517748.5%
20221234013038.2%
2021124189422.5%
20201235116246.2%
20191236418049.5%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1256115327.3%
20251298922923.2%
2024121,08917115.7%
2023121,17616113.7%
2022121,2561108.8%
2021121,346403.0%
2020121,16712510.7%
2019121,12826223.2%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CA0370900.

Arrests

Arrests made by National City Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 121,149
2025121,594
2024121,427
2023121,324
2022121,287
2021121,486
2020121,997
2019122,206

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CA0370900.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for National City Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
20241
20234
20222
20212
20202
20191
20171
20161
20151
20141
20133
20122
20101
20081
20072
20061
20052
20041
20033
20023
20015
19991
19982
19971
19962
19953
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American12
Anti-Hispanic or Latino7
Anti-Gay (Male)5
Anti-Lesbian (Female)5
Anti-White5
Anti-Asian3
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)3
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry3
Anti-Multiple Races, Group2
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Jewish1
Anti-Mental Disability1
Anti-Other Religion1
Anti-Protestant1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CA0370900.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

8 people have died during an encounter with National City Police Department between 2001 and 2021, according to the two datasets named below.

8Deaths recorded
13.85Per 100,000 people policed
2001–2021Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Vehicle3
Gunshot2
Asphyxiated/Restrained1
Gunshot, Taser1
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (7) and Mapping Police Violence (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of National City Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm3
Knife or other cutting instrument6
Hands, fists or feet309
Other weapon38
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950052
19960080
19970093
199800124
199901131
20001081
200110111
20020041
20030031
20040181
200510101
20060032
20070071
20100020
20110081
20120081
20140080
20150090
20160032
201700150
201800121
201901224
202003150
20210052
202200182
202300211
202400275
202500350

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing San Diego

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CA0370900. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.