PoliceCensus

Home / States / California / Moreno Valley Police Department

Moreno Valley Police Department

City agency in Riverside, California, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2026.

ORI
CA033320X
Type
City
County
Riverside
State
California (CA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2026-01-01

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2015, covering a population of 205,182.

1Sworn officers
0Civilian staff
0.00Employees per 1,000 people
205,182Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
201510205,1820.00
201410202,9110.00
201110195,6380.01
199813042146,0141.18
199713042143,0201.20
199613042141,2921.22

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Moreno Valley Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 1267533850.1%
20251264533652.1%
20241258231754.5%
20231267829543.5%
20221279134443.5%
2021Not reported
20201283334441.3%
20191284736543.1%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20269 of 121,63524615.0%
2025123,54035410.0%
2024123,5622286.4%
2023124,1602917.0%
2022124,3743217.3%
2021Not reported
2020125,1393496.8%
2019125,5434077.3%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CA033320X.

Arrests

Arrests made by Moreno Valley Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20269 of 122,299
2025120
2024120
2023122,963
2022123,787
2021Not reported
2020123,758
2019123,614

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CA033320X.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

2 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Moreno Valley Police Department for 2024, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20242
20231
20221
20201
20191
20181
20173
20151
20144
20131
20121
20112
20104
20095
20086
20075
20063
20057
20046
20033
20024
20013
20008
19993
19981
19973
19966
19952
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2024
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American49
Anti-Gay (Male)9
Anti-Hispanic or Latino9
Anti-Asian5
Anti-Other Religion5
Anti-White3
Anti-Lesbian (Female)2
Anti-Protestant2
Anti-Catholic1
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CA033320X.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Moreno Valley Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm12
Knife or other cutting instrument9
Hands, fists or feet349
Other weapon101
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199510115
199600164
199701173
199810170
19990091
200000132
200110121
200220187
200300136
200420145
200500115
200600203
20070099
200810122
20090242
20101042
20111142
201200185
201311165
201400125
20150083
20160241
20170061
201801122
20190185
20201073
20220095
202300141
202400153
202500163

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Riverside

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CA033320X. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.