PoliceCensus

Home / States / California / Modoc County Sheriff's Office

Modoc County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Modoc, California, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
CA0250000
Type
County
County
Modoc
State
California (CA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-10-01
Location
41.5929, -120.7184

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 5,792.

16Sworn officers
8Civilian staff
4.14Employees per 1,000 people
5,792Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
20251685,7924.14
20241765,9403.87
20232095,8344.97
202211195,9825.02
20212586,0855.42
20202386,1285.06
201920106,1244.90
20181996,1764.53
20172096,1524.71
20161996,2174.50
20151496,2863.66
20141386,4483.26

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Modoc County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 124375.0%
202512262284.6%
20241221942.9%
202312392564.1%
202212301446.7%
20213 of 125240.0%
202012231982.6%
201912312683.9%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1213430.8%
202512371027.0%
20241229517.2%
202312281035.7%
20221251917.6%
20213 of 126233.3%
20201232618.8%
20191229413.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CA0250000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Modoc County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 1286
202512146
202412167
202312166
20221283
20213 of 1210
202012171
201912257

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CA0250000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Modoc County Sheriff's Office for 2002, as at 14 August 2026.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20021
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2002
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CA0250000.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$876,429Original acquisition value
5Line items received
2014–2026Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Mine Resistant Vehicle1$733,0002014-03-06
Truck,Ambulance1$142,9182020-02-05
Boots,Hot Weather42$2512026-05-27
Boots, Men'S, Pair1$1852026-05-18
Assault Pack22$752026-05-27

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Modoc

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CA0250000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.