PoliceCensus

Home / States / California / Modesto Police Department

Modesto Police Department

City agency in Stanislaus, California, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2022.

ORI
CA0500200
Type
City
County
Stanislaus
State
California (CA)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2022-01-01
Location
37.6367, -120.9958

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 221,064.

199Sworn officers
138Civilian staff
1.52Employees per 1,000 people
221,064Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025199138221,0641.52
2024181146218,9901.49
2023175110217,7781.31
202217284219,0831.17
202118491216,9461.27
202020399216,5601.39
2019205104216,5421.43
201821784215,8221.39
201721398213,6771.46
201621486212,8801.41
201521679210,7941.40
201420773205,8201.36

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Modesto Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1276152869.4%
2025121,29890569.7%
2024121,46093263.8%
2023121,41985660.3%
2022121,66294957.1%
202112100.0%
2020121,6031,01663.4%
2019121,7581,07861.3%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 121,85529616.0%
2025124,19775117.9%
2024125,45362311.4%
2023124,92450410.2%
2022125,3944157.7%
202112200.0%
2020125,48175113.7%
2019127,27889212.3%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record CA0500200.

Arrests

Arrests made by Modesto Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 125,190
20251210,361
2024128,934
2023127,353
2022125,672
2021Annual total only1 †
20201214,364
20191211,497

† Annual total only. For 2021, the FBI’s file places this agency’s whole year of arrests in a single month. Police Census shows the annual total as filed and no month-by-month figures for those years: a monthly table would show one month’s spike above zeros in the other eleven, which the source does not support.

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record CA0500200.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

3 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Modesto Police Department for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20253
20241
20237
20226
20216
202011
20193
20187
201710
201611
20154
20144
20133
20125
20114
20106
20091
20088
200710
200610
20055
20042
20032
200211
200113
200017
199915
19987
199715
199613
199511
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American79
Anti-Gay (Male)35
Anti-Hispanic or Latino19
Anti-Jewish17
Anti-Multiple Races, Group16
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry16
Anti-White12
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)8
Anti-Asian7
Anti-Lesbian (Female)6
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native2
Anti-Catholic2
Anti-Female2
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)2
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group2
Anti-Arab1
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Mental Disability1
Anti-Other Christian1
Anti-Protestant1
Anti-Sikh1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record CA0500200.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

44 people have died during an encounter with Modesto Police Department between 2000 and 2025, according to the two datasets named below.

44Deaths recorded
19.90Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2025Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot28
Vehicle10
Asphyxiated/Restrained2
Gunshot, Taser2
Drowned1
Tasered1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (32) and Mapping Police Violence (12). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Modesto Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm32
Knife or other cutting instrument25
Hands, fists or feet968
Other weapon244
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
199544275
199610203
199711248
199800268
199910213
2000202816
2001011711
200202249
2003211912
200401205
2005313210
200611268
200700235
200800152
200922136
201001175
201120196
201202217
201300225
201400205
201530171
201611143
201700208
201801182
201910152
202020154
2022013916
20231010120
20241513928
20254015621

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$139,122Original acquisition value
20Line items received
1998–2010Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Truck,Armored2$130,1402010-12-14
Rifle,5.56 Millimeter18$8,9821998-08-06

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Stanislaus

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record CA0500200. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.