PoliceCensus

Home / States / Arizona / Pima County Sheriff's Office

Pima County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Pima, Arizona, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2020.

ORI
AZ0100000
Type
County
County
Pima
State
Arizona (AZ)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2020-01-01
Location
32.1706, -110.9452

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 366,196.

475Sworn officers
947Civilian staff
3.88Employees per 1,000 people
366,196Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025475947366,1963.88
2024548909379,1893.84
2023525896365,2223.89
2022539767365,0463.58
2021506839337,3763.99
2020505900374,3803.75
2019478939367,2843.86
2018504891373,6303.73
2017483953364,2973.94
2016512953365,8574.00
2015512953365,1934.01
2014519947366,2694.00

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Pima County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 1258627847.4%
20251278431540.2%
20241275538450.9%
20231281133641.4%
20221280236044.9%
20211291439743.4%
20201292338541.7%
201910 of 1255431556.9%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 124,0621,22130.1%
2025126,6701,89028.3%
2024127,1392,17930.5%
2023127,2212,03828.2%
2022127,5201,47319.6%
2021127,07694113.3%
2020127,0891,06315.0%
201910 of 127,0751,33918.9%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record AZ0100000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Pima County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 125,111
2025127,853
2024128,312
2023128,336
2022128,338
2021127,051
2020127,358
201910 of 128,044

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record AZ0100000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

16 incidents appear in the FBI’s hate crime file for Pima County Sheriff's Office for 2025, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
202516
202413
202314
202211
202119
202026
20172
20161
20152
20133
20121
20116
201011
20094
20083
20077
20063
20053
200411
20033
19991
199811
199735
199633
199521
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1995–2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American82
Anti-Jewish52
Anti-Hispanic or Latino26
Anti-White26
Anti-Gay (Male)11
Anti-Other Race/Ethnicity/Ancestry8
Anti-Protestant8
Anti-Other Religion6
Anti-Lesbian (Female)5
Anti-Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, or Transgender (Mixed Group)5
Anti-Multiple Races, Group5
Anti-Arab3
Anti-Islamic (Muslim)3
Anti-Multiple Religions, Group3
Anti-American Indian or Alaska Native2
Anti-Asian2
Anti-Gender Non-Conforming2
Anti-Other Christian2
Anti-Sikh2
Anti-Transgender2
Anti-Buddhist1
Anti-Church of Jesus Christ1
Anti-Female1
Anti-Jehovah's Witness1

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record AZ0100000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

47 people have died during an encounter with Pima County Sheriff's Office between 2000 and 2025, according to the two datasets named below.

47Deaths recorded
12.83Per 100,000 people policed
2000–2025Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot39
Vehicle6
Other1
Taser1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (26) and Mapping Police Violence (21). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$1.4mOriginal acquisition value
32Line items received
2011–2021Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Thermal Imaging System6$618,0002016-01-21
Trailer,Transport,Total Containment Bomb Disposal1$284,5282017-10-05
Unmanned Vehicle,Ground2$240,0002021-01-22
Packbot 510 With Fastac Remotely Controlled Vehicle2$154,0002017-06-29
Viewer,Night Vision12$43,2842012-09-04
Public Address Set2$34,1632013-12-13
Mast1$5,9682016-04-27
Illuminator,Integrated,Small Arms54$2,9102017-08-23
Power Supply1$2,6692014-06-10
Sight,Reflex175$9282014-08-19
Hand Tools, Nonedged, Nonpowered1$3352012-08-18

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Pima

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record AZ0100000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.