PoliceCensus

Home / States / Arizona / Cottonwood Police Department

Cottonwood Police Department

City agency in Yavapai, Arizona, United States. This agency has no NIBRS start date on record. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for it, shown below; Police Census holds no crime counts or clearance rates for it.

ORI
AZ0130300
Type
City
County
Yavapai
State
Arizona (AZ)
FBI reporting
No NIBRS start date
Location
34.7359, -112.0227

No crime counts or clearance rates are published for this jurisdiction. Cottonwood Police Department has no National Incident-Based Reporting System start date on record, and Police Census holds no crime or clearance figures for it. The FBI file does carry arrest counts for this agency; they are shown below.

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 13,156.

32Sworn officers
31Civilian staff
4.79Employees per 1,000 people
13,156Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025323113,1564.79
2024273513,4414.61
2023352813,3234.73
2022362712,6804.97
2021332512,9354.48
2020292312,3804.20
2019292312,3314.22
2018332212,1464.53
2017342212,1164.62
2016312311,9324.53
2015313111,6785.31
2014342011,4904.70

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Arrests

Arrests made by Cottonwood Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
2026Not yet in the FBI’s file
202512722
202412675
202312865
202212916
2021Not reported
202012993
201912856

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record AZ0130300.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Cottonwood Police Department for 2017, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20171
20141
20021
19991
19932
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 1993–2017
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American2
Anti-Hispanic or Latino2
Anti-Gay (Male)1

1 of these incidents records more than one bias motivation. The FBI’s file stores those as a single list; each is shown here as its separate entries joined by “+”, and none is added to a line in the table above.

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record AZ0130300.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

5 people have died during an encounter with Cottonwood Police Department between 2011 and 2025, according to the two datasets named below.

5Deaths recorded
38.01Per 100,000 people policed
2011–2025Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot5

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Mapping Police Violence (4) and Fatal Encounters (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Cottonwood Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 1995 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm2
Knife or other cutting instrument3
Hands, fists or feet83
Other weapon21
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
19950021
19960020
19970031
19990010
20000020
20010002
20020212
20030010
20040042
20050070
20060062
20071041
20090020
20100051
20110021
20120061
20130072
20140040
20151030
20160130
20170020
20180010
20190043
20200011
20220021
20240020
20250060

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Military surplus received

Transferred under the Department of Defense 1033 programme, which passes surplus military equipment to law enforcement agencies at no cost. Values are the Department’s original acquisition cost, not what the equipment is worth today.

$847,779Original acquisition value
34Line items received
2011–2022Years of transfers
ItemQuantityAcquisition valueMost recent
Truck,Utility3$438,6272021-10-14
Packbot 510 With Fastac Remotely Controlled Vehicle2$154,0002017-06-26
Viewer,Night Vision6$112,4572014-09-09
Night Vision Goggle9$68,5892012-07-10
Sight,Thermal2$30,8002012-10-11
Sight,Night Vision Sniperscope3$30,2672012-07-25
Fiberscope1$7,5002012-03-26
Armor,Transparent,Vehicular Window6$3,4602022-07-12
Bore Light System,Laser1$6572012-05-07
Sight,Holographic4$6082012-10-11
Weapon Accessories11$3942012-05-12
Sight,Reflex6$3392012-10-11
Adapter Rail,Weapon Mounted24$812012-03-31

Source: Defense Logistics Agency, Law Enforcement Support Office, public data as at 30 June 2026. Items are grouped by description; the date shown is the most recent shipment of that item.

Also policing Yavapai

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record AZ0130300. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.