PoliceCensus

Home / States / Arkansas / Sherwood Police Department

Sherwood Police Department

City agency in Pulaski, Arkansas, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 1999.

ORI
AR0600400
Type
City
County
Pulaski
State
Arkansas (AR)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 1999-02-01
Location
34.8327, -92.2098

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 33,401.

72Sworn officers
28Civilian staff
2.99Employees per 1,000 people
33,401Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
2025722833,4012.99
2024712633,2232.92
2023692433,2252.80
2022712333,2322.83
2021771931,8573.01
2020762431,6363.16
2019742331,4353.09
2018742531,2843.16
2017652430,8302.89
2016672830,6763.10
2015672530,5723.01
2014682530,1593.08

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Sherwood Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20263 of 12483675.0%
20251220413968.1%
20241221213463.2%
20231218912968.3%
20221225915760.6%
20211222211652.3%
20201220311456.2%
2019121969548.5%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20263 of 121623219.8%
20251265512519.1%
20241264612819.8%
20231276514719.2%
20221285716218.9%
20211284914417.0%
20201284914016.5%
20191293315716.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record AR0600400.

Arrests

Arrests made by Sherwood Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20263 of 12297
2025121,250
2024121,230
2023121,236
2022121,402
2021121,284
2020121,340
2019121,165

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record AR0600400.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Sherwood Police Department for 2020, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20201
20182
20131
20129
20104
20099
20082
20072
20065
20012
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2001–2020
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Bisexual12
Anti-Black or African American11
Anti-White8
Anti-Gay (Male)2
Anti-Asian1
Anti-Heterosexual1
Anti-Jewish1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record AR0600400.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

2 people have died during an encounter with Sherwood Police Department between 2002 and 2002, according to the two datasets named below.

2Deaths recorded
5.99Per 100,000 people policed
2002–2002Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Vehicle2

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Fatal Encounters, which records deaths from 2000–2021. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled.

Assaults on officers

Officers of Sherwood Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 2000 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm5
Knife or other cutting instrument6
Hands, fists or feet70
Other weapon16
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
20000010
20011000
20160132
20170053
20180091
20190081
202000111
20212080
202211101
20230333
20240031
20251193

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Pulaski

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record AR0600400. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.