PoliceCensus

Home / States / Arkansas / Paragould Police Department

Paragould Police Department

City agency in Greene, Arkansas, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2005.

ORI
AR0280100
Type
City
County
Greene
State
Arkansas (AR)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2005-01-01
Location
36.1199, -90.5652

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 30,940.

63Sworn officers
7Civilian staff
2.26Employees per 1,000 people
30,940Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202563730,9402.26
202451830,8141.91
202350530,4451.81
202248630,2961.78
202148729,5591.86
202051629,2881.95
2019542129,2452.56
201853528,8272.01
2017501528,5882.27
2016481128,2542.09
2015471027,7912.05
2014441027,3011.98

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Paragould Police Department in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 12341441.2%
202512834453.0%
2024122828530.1%
20231238510527.3%
2022123507020.0%
2021123658824.1%
2020123818823.1%
2019123088226.6%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 1248611223.0%
20251285522125.8%
20241289922324.8%
2023121,10827925.2%
2022121,15828324.4%
2021121,10728325.6%
2020121,33533525.1%
2019121,38637126.8%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record AR0280100.

Arrests

Arrests made by Paragould Police Department, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 122,042
2025123,110
2024122,762
2023122,985
2022123,387
2021123,467
2020123,108
2019124,102

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record AR0280100.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Paragould Police Department for 2023, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20231
20211
20202
20181
20121
20111
20102
20092
20083
20071
20066
20053
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2005–2023
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American15
Anti-Gay (Male)2
Anti-White2
Anti-Bisexual1
Anti-Heterosexual1
Anti-Jewish1
Anti-Lesbian (Female)1
Anti-Multiple Races, Group1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record AR0280100.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

4 people have died during an encounter with Paragould Police Department between 2009 and 2022, according to the two datasets named below.

4Deaths recorded
12.93Per 100,000 people policed
2009–2022Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot4

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: these records come from Fatal Encounters (3) and Mapping Police Violence (1). Where both recorded the same death it is counted once. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how the two are combined. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Assaults on officers

Officers of Paragould Police Department assaulted in the line of duty, by the weapon reported, between 2005 and 2025. These are the FBI’s own weapon categories.

Weapon reportedOfficers assaulted
Firearm1
Knife or other cutting instrument2
Hands, fists or feet38
Other weapon8
YearFirearmKnifeHands, fists, feetOther
20050001
20180031
20190152
20200091
20211040
20220031
20230071
20240111
20250060

Why there is no single total here. The FBI publishes two breakdowns of the same assaults — by weapon, and by how the officer was deployed — and nationally they do not agree: the assignment columns sum to 1,869,337 and the weapon columns to 1,744,852, and the two match on only 84% of rows. Police Census publishes the weapon breakdown as the FBI states it rather than picking one basis and calling it ‘the total’. The file’s ‘cleared’ column is not shown either: it sums higher than the assaults themselves, so it is not a subset of what is above and we have not established what it counts.

This comes from the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted programme. Despite the name, the file carries no officers-killed data at all — those columns are empty for every agency and every year, so this page reports assaults only and says nothing about officers killed.

LEOKA identifies agencies by name, not by the ORI used elsewhere on this site. A row was attached only where exactly one agency in that state reduces to the same base name; 78.7% of rows matched nationwide. An agency with nothing here may have reported no assaults, or may be one of the names that did not match — Police Census does not guess which.

Also policing Greene

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record AR0280100. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.