PoliceCensus

Home / States / Arkansas / Montgomery County Sheriff's Office

Montgomery County Sheriff's Office

County agency in Montgomery, Arkansas, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2008.

ORI
AR0490000
Type
County
County
Montgomery
State
Arkansas (AR)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2008-01-01
Location
34.5457, -93.6641

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025, covering a population of 8,482.

12Sworn officers
22Civilian staff
4.01Employees per 1,000 people
8,482Population served
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202512228,4824.01
202413198,6133.72
202312178,5483.39
202211158,7222.98
202111198,8583.39
202010118,8862.36
201911138,7902.73
20181198,7902.28
20171198,7522.29
20161188,8222.15
201511118,9432.46
20141189,1122.09

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by Montgomery County Sheriff's Office in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 12300.0%
2025127228.6%
202412241354.2%
202312301240.0%
20224 of 12100.0%
20213 of 1200—
20201 of 12100.0%
20192 of 12300.0%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20267 of 128112.5%
2025124125.0%
20241211218.2%
20231241512.2%
20224 of 12200.0%
20213 of 123133.3%
20201 of 1200—
20192 of 1200—

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record AR0490000.

Arrests

Arrests made by Montgomery County Sheriff's Office, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20267 of 1220
20251236
20241250
202312173
20224 of 120
20213 of 121
20201 of 120
20192 of 120

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. A 0 is the figure as filed: the file does not distinguish an agency that made no arrests from one that did not submit them, and Police Census cannot either. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record AR0490000.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for Montgomery County Sheriff's Office for 2017, as at 14 August 2026. The table lists every year from 1991 to 2025 for which the file has at least one.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20171
20071
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2007–2017
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Hispanic or Latino1
Anti-White1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record AR0490000.

Deaths during encounters with this agency

1 person has died during an encounter with Montgomery County Sheriff's Office between 2016 and 2016, according to the two datasets named below.

1Deaths recorded
11.79Per 100,000 people policed
2016–2016Period covered
Recorded causeDeaths
Gunshot1

What this figure is and is not. It counts deaths recorded as occurring during an encounter with this agency. It is not a finding of wrongdoing, and a death being recorded here says nothing about whether it was lawful. Many involve armed confrontations; some involve none. Police Census publishes counts only and does not name the people who died.

Source: every one of these records comes from Mapping Police Violence, which records deaths from 2013–2026. They are not official statistics, and no federal database records this comprehensively. See Deaths for how these records are compiled. Mapping Police Violence data is displayed with attribution to its compiler; the written scope of this site’s right to display it is being confirmed (note dated 11 October 2026).

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record AR0490000. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.