PoliceCensus

Home / States / Alabama / University of Alabama: Tuscaloosa

University of Alabama: Tuscaloosa

University or College agency in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States. Reports crime data to the FBI, and has done since 2021.

ORI
AL0630300
Type
University or College
County
Tuscaloosa
State
Alabama (AL)
FBI reporting
Reporting since 2021-01-01
Location
33.2902, -87.5229

Workforce

As reported to the FBI for 2025.

98Sworn officers
70Civilian staff
0
YearOfficersCiviliansPopulation servedPer 1,000
202598700—
202492670—
202397690—
202267540—
202176610—
202088650—
201988670—
201885770—
201786200—
201687180—
201587170—
201481130—

Officer and civilian counts are full-time employees as filed by the agency in its annual return. A dash means the agency did not report that figure for that year — it does not mean zero.

Crime and clearances

Offences and clearances filed by University of Alabama: Tuscaloosa in its monthly returns to the FBI, added up by calendar year, 2019–2026. Violent crime and property crime are the FBI’s two categories. These are the counts as filed: Police Census does not turn them into a rate.

Violent crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 124250.0%
20251211436.4%
20241214964.3%
20231212541.7%
202212261661.5%
20211218844.4%
20208 of 128225.0%
20198 of 12171270.6%
Property crime
YearMonths filedOffencesClearedCleared as % of offences
20268 of 121543321.4%
2025122434719.3%
2024122365925.0%
2023121903920.5%
2022122307833.9%
2021121754525.7%
20208 of 12972323.7%
20198 of 121103128.2%

Reading the table. “Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A 0 is a figure the agency filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting: that year is not complete in the file we read, so where this agency has no 2026 figures the table says “Not yet in the FBI’s file” rather than “Not reported”. We can see that the agency is absent from the file so far; we cannot tell whether it has not filed or has not yet been published, and we do not guess. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months the agency filed, so it is not a full-year total. A dash in the last column means the percentage cannot be worked out: it needs both figures, and at least one offence.

“Cleared” is the FBI file’s clearance count for the year. Clearances in a year can relate to offences from earlier years, so the percentage is not the share of that year’s offences that were solved, and it can exceed 100%. Figures are not adjusted: a year far below the agency’s neighbouring years, or a 0 beside many offences, may reflect what was submitted rather than what happened. The file does not say which, and Police Census does not guess.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, summarized data for agency record AL0630300.

Arrests

Arrests made by University of Alabama: Tuscaloosa, all offences combined, as filed with the FBI and added up by calendar year, 2019–2026.

YearMonths filedArrests
20268 of 12271
202512355
202412414
202312236
202212215
202112190
20208 of 1271
201912272

“Not reported” means the agency filed nothing for that year; it does not mean zero. A year marked “7 of 12” adds up only the months filed. For 2026 the FBI is still collecting, so an absent agency reads “Not yet in the FBI’s file”: absent from the file so far, which is not the same claim as having filed nothing. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, arrest data for agency record AL0630300.

Bias-motivated incidents in the FBI’s file

1 incident appears in the FBI’s hate crime file for University of Alabama: Tuscaloosa for 2025, as at 14 August 2026.

Incidents appearing in the FBI’s file, as at 14 August 2026
YearIncidents appearing in the file
20251
Bias motivation recorded, in the FBI’s words, 2025
Bias motivationIncidents
Anti-Black or African American1

Absence from this file is not a zero. The file lists incidents that were reported to the FBI. An agency can be missing from it because it recorded none, because it did not report, or because it does not take part in the FBI’s hate crime program, and nothing Police Census holds can tell these apart. In any one year the file lists incidents for only a minority of the agencies the FBI counts as reporting.

The figures are counts of incidents as they appear in the file, as at 14 August 2026; Police Census does not turn them into a rate and does not compare them with other agencies. Offence and bias wording is the FBI’s own, unaltered. Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, additional datasets, hate crime bulk file, agency record AL0630300.

Also policing Tuscaloosa

Jurisdictions overlap. These agencies are also recorded against the same county, so a single address may be covered by more than one of them.

Source

Agency identity, type, jurisdiction, coordinates and reporting status are as published by the FBI Crime Data Explorer, agency record AL0630300. Police Census reproduces these values without adjustment. Where the FBI publishes nothing, this page says so rather than estimating.

Believe something on this page is wrong? Tell us at corrections@policecensus.com — every correction is published on Corrections.